Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 2A: Heroes & Quests (Hendricks): Databases - Getting Started

Library resources for CTW 2 class taught by Dr. Jackie Hendricks

Library Databases for Your Research Needs

In the "Databases" search box on the library home page use the "Browse by Subject" pull-down menu to access a subject list of databases in your research area OR if you know the name of the database--click on the first letter of that name in the Alphabetic List.

You can also access a page giving you the entire range of electronic resources available via the library's website at: Electronic Resources

Here are some database selection suggestions for your essay assignments:

General & Reference Databases

Besides Wikipedia (which can be used as a "get started" place but is NOT an acceptable authority) reference sources you may want to search for a general overview of your topic are: 

Once you have your keywords and search strategy planned, use a general database such as Academic Search Complete or OmniFile Full Text to enter your search terms and evaluate your search results.

If you think using a subject-specific database would help, go to the "Browse by subject" pull-down database lists in the database box on the library's home page, and search an appropriate subject database.