Research Guides: Young Scholars 2015: SCU Library Databases

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Catalog, databases, interlibrary loan, Link+...
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Library catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.

Camino
Link back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.

Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
Ask your question by texting, IM, email, or phone

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Selected Library Databases

For help using any of these databases, or researching for your courses this summer, ask Shannon, Helene, or another SCU Librarian!

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
TIP: You can search Academic Search Complete and OmniFile together by clicking the Choose Databases link and checkboxing both...plus any other you want to search.
more...less...
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary journal archive.
OmniFile Full Text
Multi-disciplinary database includes general science and applied science & technology, plus social sciences, business, education, and humanities.

News Databases

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Online version of this weekly publication, covering the most current and controversial issues of the day complete with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Full text of all articles published since 1991.

LexisNexis Academic
"Search the News" > key topic into searchbox. For specific newspaper [e.g., New York Times]: type name of newspaper in "By Source Title" box.

How to Get Articles

How to Get Articles

Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.

To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:

1. Links to full-text if we have journal online

2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print

3. Link to Interlibrary Loan & LINK+ if we do not have journal. Fill out all citation information and a link to download the article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

Young Scholars 2015: SCU Library Databases

Quick Links

Google Scholar

Selected Library Databases

For help using any of these databases, or researching for your courses this summer, ask Shannon, Helene, or another SCU Librarian!

How to Get Articles