ENGL 103: Topics in Writing and Rhetoric (Hendricks): Articles

Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.

The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.

A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

This database is an excellent source for finding scholarly articles. These are in the publications labelled as "academic journals." It also tells where to find non-scholarly articles published in popular magazines. These are labelled as "periodicals." It covers over 3,500 different publications published since 1982 across a wide range of subject areas. The full text of articles published since 1994 is often available online. You can learn more about how to use Omnifile by watching this short video:

This database indexes the articles published in more than 12,500 periodicals, including more than 8,500 whose full text is available online. It covers a wide range of academic subject fields, with coverage of some publications going back to 1911. As in Omnifile, scholarly articles will be found in the publications labelled as "academic journals," while articles in "periodicals" are from popular magazines. This database looks and works like Omnifile. So, if you watch the video about searching Omnifile, you will also know how to search Academic Search Complete.

This is the most important research tool in the field of psychology, indexing articles in professional and scholarly psychology journals, books, and other publications published throughout the world. If you are looking for information on the psychological aspects of popular media, and why people use them as they do. this is the first place to look. This database looks and works like Omnifile. So, if you watch the video above about searching Omnifile, you will also know how to search PsycINFO.

This database tells where to find articles in academic journals and other types of magazines, as well as chapters in books, on all aspects of communication studies. It is an excellent source for finding articles on the mass media and other forms of human communication. It looks and works like Omnifile. So, if you watch the video about searching Omnifile, you will also know how to search Communication Source.

This database provides access to articles in academic journals and other types of magazines, as well as chapters in books, on all aspects of film research, including writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It is an excellent source for finding articles on movies and television programs. It looks and works like Omnifile. So, if you watch the video about searching Omnifile, you will also know how to search Film and Television Literature Index.

This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on all modern languages and their literatures. All the articles listed in it are scholarly. In addition to identifying what has been written on works of literature, including graphic novels and comic books, it is also a good place to find articles about films and television programs, especially those based upon works of literature. This database looks and works like Omnifile. So, if you watch the video about searching Omnifile, you will also know how to search the MLA International Bibliography.

This database tells where to find articles published since 1970 in more than 705 music periodicals published throughout the world. It is an excellent source for articles on all types of contemporary popular music, as well as traditional and classical music. Scholarly articles will be found in the publications labelled as "academic journals," while articles in "periodicals" are from popular magazines. This database looks and works like Omnifile. So, if you watch the video above about searching Omnifile, you will also know how to search Music Index.

This database tells where to find articles published in scholarly journals, trade and popular magazines, newspapers, and other kinds of publications in the social sciences. If you are looking for articles on how popular media influence and are influenced by society, this database is a good place to look. It works similarly to all the other databases listed on this page, but it does look different on the screen. To learn more about how to use this database, click the link below for a tutorial on how to use it.