How to Get Articles
How to Get Articles
Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.
To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:
1. Links to full-text if we have journal online
2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print
3. Link to Interlibrary Loan if we do not have journal. Fill out all citation information and article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days.
Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowA link-rich, searchable online encyclopedia covering the breadth of science and technology. Thousands of articles, images, and multimedia for entry-level undergraduates to faculty researchers. Contributors include 38 Nobel Laureates.
- American Chemical Society This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to articles, books and references related to chemistry.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1993-present This link opens in a new windowProvides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. 1993-present. Updated weekly.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowSCU receives 400+ ScienceDirect online journals from the publisher Elsevier. SCU's ScienceDirect journals are marked by green icons. Most are full-text. Dates covered: 1995-present. Elsevier journals focus on science, technology, medicine, and business, and include high impact-factor journals such as the Trends and Current Opinion series.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowAccount creation is required to access this resource, click more below to sign up.
This resource provides access to Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and MedLine databases including:
- CAPlus: over 30 million documents dating back to 1907. Updated daily.
- MedLine: over 17 million references. Updated 5 times per week.
- Over 43 million organic and inorganic substances; over 60 million sequences. Updated daily.
- Over 16 million single- and multi-step reactions.
- Commercial availability, regulatory and patent information on chemicals.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Selected Chemistry Journals
To browse chem-biochem journals, click the "Journals & Magazines" tab on the Library's homepage, and under "Browse by Subject" select "Chemistry". To find specific chem-biochem titles, click "Journals & Magazines" tab on the Library's homepage, then enter the journal title.