Research Guides: CLAS 11A/12A: Cultures & Ideas I and II: Ancient Spaces (Roncaglia): Greece & Rome

Quick Links

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS OF ANCIENT GREECE AND ROME

Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Now handily available online, this is the major one-volume scholarly encyclopedia in the English language on all aspects of the Greco-Roman world. To learn not only what we know about a topic in antiquity, but how we know it, this is the place to look. The articles tell which ancient (and modern) authors tell us about an event, and exactly where in their writings to find it. The list of abbreviations for ancient authors and their works is the standard system used by classical scholars.

The following multivolume encyclopedias cover both ancient Greece and Rome.

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
This is the major scholarly encyclopedia about all aspects of the Greek and Roman world. Fifteen volumes are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity, while five volumes are devoted to the influence of the classical heritage from the end of the Roman Empire to modern times.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
This multivolume encyclopedia, aimed at the student and general reader, serves not only as a reliable source of factual information, but also as a guide to recent approaches and interpretations of the significance of many aspects of the classical world.
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome
This is an excellent encyclopedia to start with to learn more about the ancient world. The highly readable articles are arranged by topic within broad subject areas (for example, "Greek Forms of Government" and "Slavery" are both articles in the section on Government and Society).

The following one-volume encyclopedias cover both ancient Greece and Rome.

Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization
In addition to surveying the ancient Greek and Roman world, this handy one-volume encyclopedia also covers other cultures with whom the Greeks and Romans were in contact.
Oxford History of the Classical World
This volume provides a succinct overview of classical Greek and Roman history, culture, government, and daily life.

GREECE

The following encyclopedias are useful for doing research on ancient Greece.