Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Help 24/7
Our chat service is offline.
CULTURES & IDEAS I and II: ANCIENT SPACES
GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES ABOUT THE ANCIENT WORLD
The following reference books cover all of the civilizations of the ancient and early medieval Mediterranean world.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History
This 13-volume encyclopedia covers the entire Mediterranean world, including the Near East and Egypt as well as ancient Greece and Rome, from the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.
The Penguin Encyclopedia of Classical Civilizations
This one-volume encyclopedia provides good introductory articles on the ancient civilizations of Greece, Rome, and Persia, as well as India and China.
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World
This four-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of aspects of daily life and culture throughout the ancient world from prehistory to the fall of the Roman Empire. Each article explores a specific topic (such as astronomy, calendars and clocks, festivals, or weapons and armor) across the entire world in ancient times. Each topic is examined as it occurred in ancient Africa, Egypt, the Middle East, Greece, Rome, Europe, Asia and the Pacific, and the Americas. This approach makes it easy to compare similarities, differences, and influences worldwide.
The Cambridge Ancient History
This multivolume set provides excellent scholarly surveys of the history of the ancient world, including Mesopotamia, Persia, Greece, and Rome. Each volume is a narrative history, arranged chronologically and geographically. Several supplementary volumes contain photographs of archaeological sites and objects, which are important primary sources for studying the ancient world.
Chronologies of the Ancient World: Names, Dates and Dynasties
This book lists in chronological order the rulers of various kingdoms and peoples of the ancient world and the early Middle Ages, from the third millennium BCE to the 11th century CE. The geographic scope is vast, covering the Near and Middle East, the Greeks and Romans, Byzantium, and the many peoples of the ancient world with whom they came in contact (such as the Germanic kingdoms in Europe and Britain, the Huns, and India and China). This volume is a supplemental volume to Brill's New Pauly, the major scholarly encyclopedia of the Greek and Roman world.