Mission Santa Clara Maps
- Mission Santa Clara Map CollectionFinding Aid describing the 17 maps in the collection. The maps range in date from 1854-1980, and include site plans, surveys, plot maps, and landscape drawings.
- Digitized Mission Santa Clara MapsThe maps digitized in this collection include Mission Santa Clara maps and more recently created Santa Clara University maps. The landing page describes what has been digitized.
The Mission Santa Clara Book Collection
- Finding Aid for the Mission Santa Clara Book CollectionThe padres at Mission Santa Clara created and maintained a library consisting of 148 titles, dating from 1548-1835. These books are still in possession of Santa Clara University Archives & Special Collections. This guide describes each item in the collection.
A history of the Santa Clara Mission Library by Call Number: Z733.S318 H6Publication Date: Oakland, Calif. : Biobooks, 1961.The Library, collected by the Franciscan Fathers between 1777 and 1851 is now in the collection of the University of Santa Clara
The Research Manuscript Series
- Anthropological Research ManuscriptsThis occasional paper series, published at SCU between 1994 and 2006, focused on cultural, ecological, and historical matters in the south San Francisco Bay Area.
Arthur D. Spearman, S.J. Collection
Arthur Dunning Spearman, SJ served as university archivist from 1957 - 1977, and was chairman of the Historical Landmarks Commission from 1960 to 1964. It is thanks to his work bringing together various manuscripts created during the Mission period that SCU has the largest intact mission manuscripts collection in California, second only to the Mission Santa Barbara Archives.
- Papers of Arthur Dunning Spearman, S.J., 1899-1977.The papers of Arthur D. Spearman, S.J. include his research notes for his book The Five Franciscan Churches of Mission Santa Clara.
- Digital Collection of Arthur Spearman, SJ papersA selection of Father Spearman's papers have been digitized and are available online.
The Five Franciscan Churches of Mission Santa Clara, 1777-1825 by Call Number: BX1415.C2 S6ISBN: 1258805847Publication Date: 2013-09-01- Notes for a history of Mission Santa Clara byCall Number: Ref BX1415.C2 S74Bound volumes of unpublished manuscripts, maps, and notes used in Fr. Spearman's Mission Santa Clara research.
- Spearman's Glossary of Mission Spanish Vocabulary of CaliforniaDuring the course of his research, Fr. Spearman created a glossary of Spanish terms used during the California Mission period.
Magin Catala, O.F.M. Collection
- The Magín Catalá, O.F.M. Collection, 1761-2009 (bulk 1885-1909),Documents the life of Fray Magín Catalá. Often referred to as the “Holy Man of Santa Clara,” Fr. Catalá was stationed at Mission Santa Clara for thirty-six years and was widely renowned for his piety and spiritual labors.
Archives & Special Collections Access Policy
In some cases, Archives & Special Collections staff reserve the right to insist on researcher use of digital surrogates in lieu of the originals due to fragility of the originals. These cases include researchers interested in the sacramental records and Fr. Viader's Miscellany Book. If you feel you have a good reason to consult the original, please contact us to discuss this.
Otherwise, items from the Santa Clara Mission Manuscript Collection are available for researchers to use in the Norman F. Martin, S.J. Reading Room Monday - Friday, 10 am - 3 pm. Access to the collections are by appointment only. Please contact us at specialcollections@scu.edu to make an appointment. Researchers are required to complete the user register form before interacting with materials.
Quick Links to Archives & Special Collections
Additional Mission Santa Clara Information
- MISSION SANTA CLARA UNEARTHEDMission Santa Clara Unearthed is a collaborative project between students and faculty in the Department of Anthropology at Santa Clara University.