Photographs of the Pellerano Family
Couple dressed in black
Girl Dancing
Pellerano Family
The Pellerano Family Papers, 1879-1945 (bulk 1879-1894), document the lives of the Pellerano, Boitano, and Wempe families in the San Francisco Bay Area. The records consist of the personal papers of Nicholas, Clorinda, and Pedrina Pellerano along with memorabilia associated with several other family members. Nicholas Pellerano was an early vice-president of Bank of America and previously worked as a licensed pharmacist. He was also a student of the Santa Clara College Commercial Department from 1888-1891. His sister Pedrina assisted him in running his own pharmacy, Pellerano Pharmacy.
- Link to the Pellerano Family Papers finding aidThis collection is arranged into two series: Series I. Business Ledgers and Essays, 1879-1894; and Series II. Photographs, Letters and Miscellanea, 1879-1945 (bulk 1879-1894).
Autograph Books of the Pellerano Family
- [Penmanship exercise book], 1883 / Clorinda Pellerano. byCall Number: Z43 .P45 1883Publication Date: 1883.14 p. ; 21 cm Ms., signed.
Contains handwritten samples of letters, poetry and practice alphabets. Final pages contain arithmetic calculations and notes in a different hand. - Autographs, 1884-1898. byCall Number: Z41 .P451 1884Ms. On fly-leaf: "Pedrina Louisa Pellerano San Jose Cal. Jan 1/84."
Contains verses and some drawings signed and dated by friends and relatives of Pedrina Pellerano. Interleaved in the pages are some loose newspaper clippings, a sheet of sample autograph verses, and a poem written about the death of Pedrina's sister, Clorinda Pellerano, in 1897. - The golden butterfly album, 1883-1891. byCall Number: Z41 .P45 1883Ms. On fly-leaf: "From Mamma Dec. 25, 1883."
On fly-leaf: "Clorinda Pellerano San José Cal."
Contains verses and some drawings signed and dated by friends and relatives of Clorinda Pellerano.
Quick Links to Archives & Special Collections
Archives & Special Collections Access Policy
In some cases, Archives & Special Collections staff reserve the right to insist on researcher use of digital surrogates in lieu of the originals due to fragility of the originals. These cases include researchers interested in the sacramental records and Fr. Viader's Miscellany Book. If you feel you have a good reason to consult the original, please contact us to discuss this.
Otherwise, items from the Santa Clara Mission Manuscript Collection are available for researchers to use in the Norman F. Martin, S.J. Reading Room Monday - Friday, 10 am - 3 pm. Access to the collections are by appointment only. Please contact us at specialcollections@scu.edu to make an appointment. Researchers are required to complete the user register form before interacting with materials.