Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Journal Articles on your topic
The easiest way to find articles from scholarly journals on your topic is to use a library database.
Note: If searching from off-campus, you will need to input your name and library barcode number (from the back of your access card) to use any library database.
Some of the databases you can use for your project are listed below.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
The ultimate women's studies resource! Includes over 540,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases. 1972-present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. GenderWatch provides access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences, which includes anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, geography, urban studies, and more. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals. Indexing goes back to 1983. Abstracts began with January 1994. Fulltext availability varies title to title, but may go back to 1995. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1983, use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.
List of Women's and Gender Studies Journals
Articles from women and gender studies journals might be particularly relevant for your project. Here's a core list of journals in that field. Keep an eye for these journals in your list of results from a database search.
Core List of Journals in Women and Gender Studies
Choose a database from the list on the left. Enter keywords describing your topic. For example:
Third wave feminism
You can use an asterisk to pick up different endings of a word. For example, feminis* would search for feminist, feminists, as well as feminism.
Getting the full-text of database articles:
1. If the database you are using has the full-text article, just click on the link (pdf or htmil).
2. If the full-text is not available, click on Find It@SCU Libraries:
- Is the article available in another database (e.g., Wilson OmniFile, JSTOR)? If so, click on the link and follow the citation information (e.g., volume, issue, date of publication, etc.)
- Does the library have this journal in print? Go to the OSCAR record and request the issue you need from the ARS.
- If the library doesn't have access to the full-text of the article, you will be offered the option of ordering it through the interlibrary loan service (which is free).