Research Guides: Resources on Classical Tragedy: Articles

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Finding Journal Articles and More

FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES

(AND MORE)

L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
This index is a comprehensive guide to the books, journal articles, and other publications that have been published since 1924 on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity and the early Christian world, from 2000 BCE to 800 CE. Some of its annotations are in French, but don't let that scare you. It is searched in English, and it will alert you to the existence of many publications written in English.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Containing the full text online of criticism, articles from reference books, and reviews of authors and their works, this is a helpful database to get started on your research. To find critical analysis of a particular play, type its title in the "Name of Work" search box, then the author's name in the "Person - By or About" search box.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
This database is the best one to use to find articles published in journals and books, as well as whole books and other publications, on all aspects of theatre, dance, and other performing arts. The emphasis in this index is on theatrical production issues and individual productions, performers, directors, designers, etc.
The full text of articles from more than 195 journals and more than 360 full-text books is included. Years of coverage vary by title.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, as well as literary movements and topics. This is an excellent source to survey some of the most important criticism about an author and to observe how critical assessments have changed over time.
The critical essays and primary source documents reprinted in this database discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Originally founded by James Loeb in 1911 to make available all the written works surviving from the ancient Greek and Roman world, this database provides fully searchable, high-quality online editions of the original texts in Greek and Latin, with English translations facing them. This is an excellent place for finding the primary sources in which ancient authors told us about their world.
This series was originally founded by James Loeb in 1911 to make available all the written works surviving from the ancient Greek and Roman world. Several new works and editions are added every year.

Perseus Digital Library
This is perhaps the most important single free Web site in the field of classical studies. It supplies the text in Greek, Latin, and (often) English translation of the works of many ancient authors. It also provides the texts of more recent books on aspects of the ancient world, and thousands of pictures of art objects, sites, and buildings. If you do research on the ancient world on the free Internet, and don't check out the Perseus Digital Library, your research will simply be incomplete.