Research Guides: ENVS 149: African Environment and Development (Gray): Databases

Quick Links

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This database provides articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications related to agriculture and environmental science from 1960 to the present.

This database covers areas such as agricultural engineering, biodiversity, botany, environmental law, forestry, sustainability, waste management, and water resources.
GreenFILE
This database provides research on all aspects of human influence on the natural environment and how individuals, corporations, and local/national governments can minimize negative impact. The subject areas include abstracts and full-text articles on global warming, green building, alternate fuel sources, recycling, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, among many others.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
This database abstracts and provides the full-text of articles, newspapers, and multimedia resources related to environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics.

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
Access World News Research Collection
This database Includes articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.

CIA World Factbook
more... less...

[Check timeliness or use CountryWatch] Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Reference tab includes: maps of major world regions, physical world map, political world map.
CountryWatch
more... less...

Economic and political information and news for 191 countries. Plus historical background, data for key economic sectors, maps, environmental, etc. Continuously updated.

EconLit
EconLit, from the American Economic Association, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more from ~1960-Present.
Global Health
This database abstracts and indexes articles dedicated to public health from 1973 to present.

Includes information on international health, biomedical life sciences, environmental health, disease, nutrition, food safety & hygiene, health policy, and sociology of health topics from a global perspective.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
A multidisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of H.W. Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Texts, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Also available are full-text articles from five periodical databases: Applied Science & Technology, Art, BIological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science. Indexing begins 1982, Abstracts 1984, and Full-text coverage 1994. Updated daily.
PAIS Index
This database provides access to journal articles, books, dissertations, etc. on international affairs. Coverage is from 1915 to the present.