ENGL 14: Introduction to Literary History and Interpretation (Leuner): Home

Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.

The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.

A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on modern languages and their literatures. To find secondary sources about an author, type the author's surname first (for example -- Kipling, Rudyard) in the first search box, then select "Subject Terms" from the drop-down list in the box to its right. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the second search box.

A useful complement to the MLA International Bibliography, this database lists books, articles, and some book reviews written since 1920 about works of literature written in English. To find sources about an author, type the author's name (surname first) in the "Subject" box. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the "Keyword" box.

This database contains the full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, as well as literary movements and topics. This is an excellent source to survey some of the most important criticism about an author and to observe how critical assessments have changed over time.

Containing the full text online of criticism, articles from reference books, and reviews of authors and their works, this is a helpful database to get started on your research. If you are looking for critical analysis of a particular literary work, do an Advanced Search and type its title in the "Name of Work" search box, then type the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Kipling, Rudyard) in the "Person - By or About" search box.

Many literary essays and scholarly articles about literature are published in anthologies and collections of essays. This database tells where to find over 330,000 essays published in these books in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain from 1900 to the present.

This database is an excellent source for starting research on poems and their authors. It provides the full text online of over 250,000 poems, critical commentaries on 1,000 well-known poems, biographies of approximately 500 poets, and a "Listening Room" featuring notable contemporary poets reading aloud a selection of poems by many authors. It also can be used to find copies of poems published elsewhere, as it supplies over 450,000 citations to where poems may be found in printed books. In addition to poems written originally in English, it also provides information about and access to a wide range of poetry from all times and places, written in many other languages.

This database provides biographical and critical information about the lives and works of over one thousand British women writers, as well as materials useful for understanding the critical and historical contexts of their writings. This information is heavily documented with over 25,000 bibliographic references.