Start Here
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThis page is designed to assist teachers in making use of the amazing collection of digitized primary sources.
- Teaching with Primary SourcesThis is a free quarterly journal on teaching with Library of Congress digitized primary sources in K-12 classrooms.
- California History Links from the State LibraryHere you will find a variety of information sources about California history. Select Online Resources to view materials that are digitized.
Organizations & Associations
These are some groups you should be familiar with, maybe even join or subscribe to some of their publications. Besides the obvious professional development and continuing education benefits of membership, their websites are usually gateways to spectacular materials for classroom instruction and curriculum development.
Great Sites for Lesson Plans
Search these web sites for lesson plans in all disciplines and all topics:
In the Classroom
Finding Articles from Education Journals and Magazines
To find articles from education journals, try the following databases. Enter keywords describing what you are looking for. For example:
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 500 professional and scholarly education journals. Dates of coverage vary by title, but some go back to 1983. For 250 of the journals, full-text of the articles is provided, some back to 1994, but most for only the most recent 5 years.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThis database will lead you to articles from more than 3,000 professional and scholarly education journals and magazines as well as some books and conference papers. The vast majority of sources are in English, but other countries and languages are represented. Dates of coverage vary wildly, but you could find something from as far back as 1929.
- Education Database This link opens in a new windowProquest Education Journals indexes articles from over 1000 professional and scholarly education journals and magazines. About half include fulltext of the articles. Most titles are covered back to the 1990s, but there are articles back to the 1930s even. In addition to journal articles, education newspapers, newswires, conference papers and dissertations are included. Although it is overwhelming English-language material, some major journals in other languages are represented.