Advice & Strategy
In the box below are some encyclopedias about Asian Americans. Think wikipedia but with signed articles!
These could be useful to you in various ways. Because these encyclopedias are all focused on Asian Americans, you can look up a broader issue you are dealing with, like gangs or suicide, in them and see how they relate that broader issue specifically to Asian Americans. Along the way, you will pick up language and perhaps even the names of researchers or specific incidents or narrower issues related to your broader topic.
And, of course, you can use them as you are still browsing FOR a topic or issue to research.
Links to Encyclopedias
Asian American Society by ISBN: 9781452281902Publication Date: 2014Published with the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS), two volumes of the four-volume encyclopedia feature more than 300 A-to-Z articles authored by AAAS members and experts in the field who examine the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience. The next two volumes of this work contain approximately 200 annotated primary documents, organized chronologically, that detail the impact American society has had on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. (Publisher)
Asian American Religious Cultures by ISBN: 9781598843309Publication Date: 2015This encyclopedia provides a single source for authoritative information on the Asian American and Pacific Islander religious experience, addressing South Asian Americans, such as Indian Americans and Pakistani Americans; East Asian Americans, including Chinese Americans, Japanese Americans, and Korean Americans; and Southeast Asian Americans, whose ethnicities include Filipino Americans, Thai Americans, and Vietnamese Americans. Pacific Islanders include Hawaiians, Samoans, Marshallese, Tongan, and Chamorro. The coverage includes not only traditional eastern belief systems and traditions such as Buddhism, Confucianism, and Hinduism as well as Micronesian and Polynesian religious traditions in the United States, but also the culture and religious rituals of Asian American Christians. (Publisher)
Asian Americans by ISBN: 9781598842395Publication Date: 2013Written by leading scholars in their fields of expertise and authorities in diverse professions, the entries devote attention to diverse Asian and Pacific Islander American groups as well as the roles of women, distinct socioeconomic classes, Asian American political and social movements, and race relations involving Asian Americans. (Publisher)
Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife by ISBN: 0313350663Publication Date: 2010Equally instructive and intriguing, the Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife provides an illuminating overview of Asian American folklore as a way of life. Surveying the histories, peoples, and cultures of numerous Asian American ethnic and cultural groups, the work covers everything from ancient Asian folklore, folktales, and folk practices that have been transmitted and transformed in America to new expressions of Asian American folklore and folktales unique to the Asian American historical and contemporary experiences.
The encyclopedia's three comprehensive volumes cover an extraordinarily wide range of Asian American cultural and ethnic groups, as well as mixed-race and mixed-heritage Asian Americans. Each group section is introduced by a historical overview essay followed by short entries on topics such as ghosts and spirits, clothes and jewelry, arts and crafts, home decorations, family and community, religious practices, rituals, holidays, music, foodways, literature, traditional healing and medicine, and much, much more. Topics and theories are examined from cross-cultural and interdisciplinary perspectives to add to the value of the work. (Publisher)
Asian American Leadership by ISBN: 0990730042Publication Date: 2015An authoritative, up-to-date reference guide organized in A to Z fashion covering all the major inter-disciplinary themes related to individual and group leadership in the Asian American communities and beyond. (Credo description)
