Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images courtesy of Flickr users (in order of appearance): brighter than sunshine; Shannon Kringen; Dennis Skley; Justien Van Zele; Mark Smiciklas; & Silke Remmery.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
Connect to a reference librarian for help 24/7.
Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Access all of the library's resources from the library home page.
Interlibrary Loan & LINK+
Find out more about requesting books and articles from other libraries.
A-Z Database List
Browse the complete list of databases available through the SCU Library by subject, type, or vendor.
Class Slides- February 14, 2022
Class Resources- February 14, 2022
Primary Research Resources
Interview and Survey Questions
Looking Forward Sources
GuideStar by Candid
Guidestar is a directory of US nonprofits and charities. Search by keyword to identify organizations addressing your issue area, and then visit the website of agencies that might provide information about forward-looking approaches to the issue. Note: Guidestar provides a certain number of free profile views. You can set up a free account if you would like to view more.
Google Advanced Search
Search by domain, date updated, or precise phrase.
Recommended Databases to Get Started
The following databases are good places to get started with your topic. Additional databases are listed on the Background Information, Find Books, and Find Articles pages of this guide.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search for articles from over 600 different electronic reference books and also works as a gateway to a very wide array of other information sources, including images, audio and video. It is a really excellent place to begin research with 'Topic Pages' offering authoritative overviews and a Mind Map feature to assist in narrowing and focusing research and identifying keywords for database searching.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Updated daily.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.