Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowSearch for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
- Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new windowA team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.
Humanities Librarian
Leanna Goodwater
Contact:
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
408-554-5434
Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, English, Ethics, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Theatre & Dance
General Encyclopedias of Ancient Greece and Rome
The following reference books and databases are excellent places to start when researching the discoveries and achievements of the ancient Greeks and Romans, including in the fields of science and technology.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowHandily available online, this is the major one-volume scholarly encyclopedia in the English language on all aspects of the Greco-Roman world. To learn not only what we know about a topic in antiquity, but how we know it, this is the place to look. The articles tell which ancient (and modern) authors tell us about the topic, and exactly where in their writings to find it. The list of abbreviations for ancient authors and their works is the standard system used by classical scholars.
The following multi-volume encyclopedias are excellent sources for doing research on all aspects of life in ancient Greece and Rome.
- Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient WorldThis is the major scholarly encyclopedia about all aspects of the Greek and Roman world. Fifteen volumes are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity, while five volumes are devoted to the influence of the classical heritage from the end of the Roman Empire to modern times.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeThis multivolume encyclopedia, aimed at the student and general reader, serves not only as a reliable source of factual information, but also as a guide to recent approaches and interpretations of the significance of many aspects of the classical world.
- Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and RomeThis is an excellent encyclopedia to start with to learn more about the ancient world. The highly readable articles are arranged by topic within broad subject areas (for example, the article on "Engineering" is in the section on Technology).
Encyclopedias of Ancient Greece
The following encyclopedias are useful for doing research on ancient Greece.
Encyclopedias of Ancient Rome
The following encyclopedias are useful for doing research on ancient Rome.