Engaging Diverse Perspectives: Home

This database provides the full text of more than 1,700 English-language plays (more than 40% of which have never been published before) written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 black playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Among the playwrights included are Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, and Zora Neale Hurston.

This database provides primary sources including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence, among other documents related to Black Freedom from 1790 to 2000s. The resource highlights documents from the following time periods: 1. Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).

This database provides scholarly essays, journal articles, historic newspapers, fiction, poetry, archival records, and literary reviews in Black Studies. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals), the Black Literature Index, and historical black newspapers such as the Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) and and the Daily Defender (1956-1975).

This database provides access to three full-text databases, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch covers gender and women studies and LGBTQ+ research from authoritative perspectives in academic, radical and community presses from 1970 to present. Ethnic NewsWatch contains newspapers, magazines, journals of the ethnic, minority, and native presses from 1985 to present. Alt-PressWatch includes independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.

This database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.

This database provides the full text of hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers (many of them bilingual) published between 1808 - 1980. Included are newspapers from California, Texas, New Mexico, New York, and many other states. This is the largest online collection of Spanish-English newspapers printed in the United States.

This database tells where to find journal articles on Latin American topics in the social sciences and humanities from 1967 to the present. Over 700 journals, published worldwide, are indexed. Included are citations for articles about Mexico, all Central American and South American countries, and the Caribbean, as well as about Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

This database provides biographies, articles, maps, documents, images, timelines and charts and tables of African-American life, history and culture including the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; the Encyclopedia of African-American History, 1896 to the Present.

This database provides speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses produced by Fisk University from 1943-1970 including notable names Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

This database provides documents and collections related to the varieties and legacy of slavery, as well as the social justice perspective and continued existence of slavery today, published from 1490 to the present.

Contains the full-text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press from the late 1960s to the present.

Contains full scans of primary source material documenting WWI.

This database provides a digital collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers relating to feminist, dissident, campus radical, Native American, anti-war activist, Black Power, Hispanic, LGBT activist, the extreme right-wing publications of the alternative and small press archives from the latter half of the 20th century. Resource is the result of a four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries.

Contains full-text searchable scans of newspapers published by Klan organizations and sympathizers, alongside key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities in the 1920s.

This database provides access to the complete archives of 16 leading journals of opinion, including Dissent, Commentary, Harper's, and The New Yorker.

This database provides primary resources from the 16th to 20th centuries on the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender studies research along with LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) history and activism, psychology, and cultural studies. The library subscribes to Module 1: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part 1: primary sources on social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ globally, and Module 3: Sex and Sexuality examining sexual norms and gender roles over time.

This database provides full-text articles on gender and women's studies, LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) by authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. Access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses.

This database provides full-text scholarly and popular articles, journals, magazines, and regional newspapers on current or historically significant LGBTQ issues, studies, queer theory, and more.

This database provides a collection of primary and secondary sources on the history of women's social movements in the United States from 1600-2000.

This database provides full transcriptions of over 470 texts written by pre-Victorian women in English and published between 1400 and 1850, focusing on works that are rare or inaccessible. Produced by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University, this database includes fiction, non-fiction, verse, and drama.

This database provides the full text of more than 1,700 English-language plays (more than 40% of which have never been published before) written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 black playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Among the playwrights included are Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, and Zora Neale Hurston.

This database provides scholarly essays, journal articles, historic newspapers, fiction, poetry, archival records, and literary reviews in Black Studies. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals), the Black Literature Index, and historical black newspapers such as the Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) and and the Daily Defender (1956-1975).

This database provides the full text of over 13,000 English-language plays by recent and contemporary playwrights of diverse backgrounds, many of which are rare and difficult to find or have never been published before. It combines the complete texts of plays previously contained in the following online collections: Asian American Drama, Black Drama, Contemporary World Drama, Latin American Drama, North American Indian Drama, North American Womens Drama, and Twentieth Century North American Drama. In addition to the plays, this database also includes posters, playbills, production stills, and other visual materials useful for appreciating the plays in a wider context.

This database provides the full text of many of the most important plays from the English-speaking world from 1891 to 2008, by over 300 noted and lesser-known dramatists. Among the playwrights included are Amiri Baraka, Noel Coward, Susan Glaspell, Langston Hughes, Brian Friel, David Mamet, Eugene ONeill, John Osborne, Sean OCasey, Harold Pinter, George Bernard Shaw, Neil Simon, Gertrude Stein, Tom Stoppard, Derek Walcott, August Wilson, and Elizabeth Wong.

This database provides full transcriptions of over 470 texts written by pre-Victorian women in English and published between 1400 and 1850, focusing on works that are rare or inaccessible. Produced by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University, this database includes fiction, non-fiction, verse, and drama.