Research Guides: ENGL 144: Gender in 18th-Century British Literature (Leuner): Finding Primary Sources

Quick Links

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES

To find original texts, such as works of fiction, non- fiction, poetry, plays, news sources, etc., start with some of these resources:

LINK+
LINK+ services paused due to library system changes.
Hathi Trust
Drawn from the collections of many major research libraries, this web site contains complete scanned copies of millions of books that are out of copyright (i.e. published before 1928).
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit web site that provides permanent access to many of the world's publications in digital format. It covers all time periods and is useful for finding digitized versions of books and other publications that are no longer under copyright.

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
This is a full-text collection of over 75,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1639 to 1819. It includes the works of many British authors during this time period that appeared in American editions.
This database consists of two parts: Early American Imprints. Series I: Evans (1639-1800), which is based on Charles Evanss American Bibliography, and Early American Imprints. Series II:Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819), which is based on Ralph R. Shaws and Richard H. Shoemakers American Bibliography.

WorldCat
Use this combined library catalog to find records for millions of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Most of the books in libraries in the United States can be borrowed on interlibrary loan. Digitized books that are no longer under copyright can also be read online by using the links in their records in WorldCat.