Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Learn Remotely with the Library
Learn about how to use the library remotely this academic year:
Literary Research Databases
INTRODUCTION TO CULTURAL STUDIES AND LITERARY THEORY
ONLINE DATABASES FOR DOING LITERARY RESEARCH
These online databases are excellent sources to use to find critical analysis of works of literature in scholarly books and articles.
MLA International Bibliography
This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on modern languages and their literatures. To find secondary sources about an author, type the author's surname first (for example -- Kipling, Rudyard) in the first search box, then select "Subject Terms" from the drop-down list in the box to its right. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the second search box.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
A useful complement to the MLA International Bibliography, this database lists books, articles, and some book reviews written since 1920 about works of literature written in English. To find sources about an author, type the author's name (surname first) in the "Subject" box. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the "Keyword" box.
Gale Literature Criticism
This database contains the full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, as well as literary movements and topics. This is an excellent source to survey some of the most important criticism about an author and to observe how critical assessments have changed over time.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Containing the full text online of criticism, articles from reference books, and reviews of authors and their works, this is a helpful database to get started on your research. If you are looking for critical analysis of a particular literary work, type its title in the "Name of Work" search box, then the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Kipling, Rudyard) in the "Person - By or About" search box.
Gale Literary Index
This online index identifies reference books containing articles about individual works of literature and their authors. In the Search box, type the author's name, surname first (for example -- Kipling, Rudyard). General articles about the author are listed first. Then, listed in alphabetical order by title in the "Works by this Author" section, are articles that discuss specific literary works.
Get Help 24/7
Our chat service is offline.