Chat with a Librarian
24/7 Research Help is Available
Librarian
Workshop Goals Today
Welcome! In the workshop today, you will have the opportunity to:
- Explore library databases that provide you with peer-reviewed (academic/scholarly) articles
- Practice evaluating sources for relevancy and credibility
Library Brainstorm Activity
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowOnline version of this weekly publication, covering the most current and controversial issues of the day complete with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Full text of all articles published since 1991.
Interesting insights on your Library Brainstorm Activity
Searching vs browsing
Topic starters
E.g. Browse: Education -> Teaching -> Women in the Workplace
https://library-cqpress-com.libproxy.scu.edu/cqresearcher/document.php?id=cqresrre2021070200
Research Starter! Follow the citations.
It's Critical: Access Peer Reviewed Information Through the Library
Library-provided databases are part of that 90% of information found only in the deep web.
The SCU Library subscribes to hundreds of these databases that are hidden in the deep web.
You have three options to access these databases:
-
Use the library's website to access the list of databases and select one to enter and search within (see image below indicating where to navigate)
-
Click the direct link to the databases page to access the list and pick one
-
Use the curated list of databases on this research guide's articles tab to pick a database, enter it, and search
The Internet's Own Boy
Clips from The Internet's Own Boy:
The Story of Aaron Swartz (2014)
Activity: Research Proposal!
Step 1 - Jot down keywords on your brainstorm activity print-out
Step 2 - Pick a database
A few options:
1) Find it on the Databases tab of the Library’s website
Navigate to the Databases tab
Browse By Title or Browse by Subject
2) Select a database from the articles tab of this research guide
Step 3 - Start searching
Now...
Select Advanced Search
Use your keywords and other narrowing strategies
Fill out this Google Form tinyurl.com/yz8tzhtx
Example:
