Librarian
Workshop Goals Today
Welcome! In the workshop today, you will have the opportunity to:
- Learn about the Saint John's Bible and the history of medieval bibles
- Practice using the MLA Handbook to guide your citation style
- Learn different ways to search for peer-reviewed articles through the SCU Library
Pop Quiz!
Can you correctly cite this volume in the Saint John's Bible in MLA Style?
Post your citation on this Padlet.
It's Critical: Access Peer Reviewed Information Through the Library
Library-provided databases are part of that 90% of information found only in the deep web.
The SCU Library subscribes to hundreds of these databases that are hidden in the deep web.
You have three options to access these databases:
-
Use the library's website to access the list of databases and select one to enter and search within (see image below indicating where to navigate)
-
Click the direct link to the databases page to access the list and pick one
-
Use the list of Religious Studies Best Bet databases to pick a database, enter it, and search
Finding Sources
Pick a database
A couple good options:
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowIndex to periodicals, research in ministry, book reviews in religion and Methodist reviews. 1949-present. Updated semi-annually. Includes online versions of the entire runs of a core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly periodicals in the field of religion, most of which go back to 1949.
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowOSCAR is the library's catalog. It will tell you what the library owns or subscribes to. It's used mostly for books.
Construct your search
An example:
Refine if necessary
Do you need peer-reviewed journal articles? Are you looking for popular/background sources? Use the database limiters on the left side of the interface.
Evaluate results
Know your topic well to know what to pick when you look over your results.
How long is the article? Who wrote the article? What does the abstract say about the article?
Save/cite articles that look good
Use the built-in tools to save the permalink, generate a citation, and more. This is important for eventually creating your bibliography.
If you're using OSCAR to find books, you will have to make a citation by hand most likely (there is not a built-in citation generator in OSCAR).
Activity: Post An Article in MLA Style
Activity Instructions
Find an article in ATLA Religion Database that is about something you've discussed in class recently or that interests you related to the Christian tradition. Post the citation for the article in correct MLA style on the Padlet at the top of this page.
We'll see who did it correctly!
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowIndex to periodicals, research in ministry, book reviews in religion and Methodist reviews. 1949-present. Updated semi-annually. Includes online versions of the entire runs of a core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly periodicals in the field of religion, most of which go back to 1949.