Welcome TESP 65: U.S. Hispanic Theology
Researching your chosen theologian
Strategies:
- Look for biographical information about the theologian
- Look for materials authored by the theologian
- Look for materials about the theologian that are not strictly biographical
Google is definitely your friend!
- Try Googling the name of the theologian and theology if you're not getting results about the right person
- By Googling, you may find the theologian's page at their University's institutional repository
Prioritize information from credible sites like the theologian's personal website/LinkedIn, their university's website, sites containing works authored by the theologian (e.g. columns/pieces in periodicals like America: The Jesuit Review and the National Catholic Reporter; self-published thoughts on platforms like their Twitter page or blogs), and other professional organizations that the theologian might belong to and be active in.
But don't stop at Google!
You need to consult the actual materials authored by your theologian to be able to communicate the core of their research output. You will use the SCU Library's resources for this.
- Utilize the Library's Catalog, OSCAR, as well as Link+ and ILL
- This will connect you with books written by the theologian
- As well as books that contain chapters written by the theologian
- Utilize the SCU Library's databases like ATLA Religion and OneSearch
- This will connect you with articles written by the theologian
Reference Sources
- The Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the United StatesThe Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the United States is an association of scholars dedicated to promoting research and critical theological reflection within the context of the U.S. Hispanic experience.
Books
OSCAR, the Library's Catalog
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
OSCAR is the Library's catalog and it tells you the books the SCU Library owns or subscribes to (physical and virtual), in addition to many other material types. You can use it to find books authored by your theologian, and books containing chapters written by your theologian but authored by someone else.
- Do an author search to see if SCU Library owns a monograph authored by this theologian
- Last name, first name middle name
- Do a simple search to find books that may contain a chapter authored by this theologian
- Format of name is not as important in this scenario
Link+
Look for the 
button in OSCAR to see if another Library has books by your theologian. Below is the direct link to Link+
- LINK+LINK+ services paused due to library system changes.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Use the InterLibrary Loan service to request materials not available at SCU or through Link+. Articles can come very quickly--within hours--but physical media like books take longer to be mailed.
- WorldCatA combined library catalog for North American (and some European) libraries: Use this to find records for millions of books and other materials in libraries worldwide, representing 400 languages.
- Interlibrary LoanFind out more about requesting books and articles from other libraries.
Databases for Articles
Find articles written by your theologian, or book reviews about books they have written
If looking for articles by your theologian, make sure to use Last name, First name and choose author from the drop down menu.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to discover scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Some content will be freely available on the web; most will only be accessible by subscription. This restricted link allows current University students, faculty, and staff to access the full text of licensed resources to which the University subscribes. Click on the "Find it @ SCU" links to see if the University has the article through its institutional database and e-journal subscriptions.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials contains records of journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, commentaries, and obituaries related to religion from 1949 to present and a few from the 19th century.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowReligious and Theological Abstracts contains records and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, and reviews of scholarly literature in the field of religion and theology from 1949 to present.
- OneSearchSearch the library catalog plus the content of many library databases and electronic journals at once.