A Note on Content
Because of the overlap between the Unity movement and the creation of the MCC, there may be some overlap of information between this page of our research guide and the Unity page.
This is not a comprehensive list of all documents and articles relating to the Multicultural Center (MCC). For information on how to find more documents via our physical archives, please consult our Guide to Archives & Special Collections: Searching. For information on how to search through Digital Collections, please refer to our Guide to Digital Collections or Tips for Searching the Santa Clara student newspaper collection. We are updating this guide on a regular basis to add more information, but recognize that there may be too many articles for one person to find them all. If there is an important article or document you feel should be included, but isn't, please feel free to let us know at specialcollections@scu.edu.
Scans of Documents from the Archives (Primary Sources)
In Digital Collections
Some materials involving the Multicultural Center have been digitized and made available through SCU Digital Collections. These materials have been tagged with the keyword 'Multicultural Center.' Click here to view a list of all materials tagged 'Multicultural Center' in SCU Digital Collections. Specific materials that may be of interest include the following:
- Multicultural Centers' Policies and ProceduresTwo-page document titled 'Cultural Centers' Policies and Procedures' that outlines the policies and procedures for the Multicultural Center. Sections include Keys, Security, Payroll, Problems and accidents, Telephones, Office supplies, Library materials, Assigned work hours, Hiring Employees, Weekly Reports, Inventories, Use of Cultural Center Facilities, and Operating Hours. Document is undated but included in folder labeled as having materials from 1985 to 1986.
- Multicultural Center Evaluation Report 1988-1989Thirty-one page document titled 'Multicultural Center Evaluation Report 1988-1989' submitted by Multicultural Center Student Coordinator Lydia I. Van Ginkel. Report contents include the following: I. Introduction; II. Clubs; III. Programming Board; IV. Staff; V. Facility; VI. Programming; VII. Multicultural Week; VIII. Publicity/News Clippings; and IX. Conclusion.
- Benson Memorial Center and Multicultural Center Memorandum of UnderstandingThree page Memorandum of Understanding between the Benson Memorial Center and the Multicultural Center dated May 1st, 2000. MOU covers information such as Benson Memorial Center Responsibilities (Maintenance, Custodial, Improvements, Keys, Work Orders, Lounge, Lounge Art, Hours, and Scheduling) and Multicultural Center Responsibilities (Office Furnishings, Work Orders, Telephone, Scheduling, Lounge Art, Display Case, and Storage). Document states in overview that the arrangements were agreed upon by representatives from the Multicultural Center, Associated Students, the Off-Campus Student Association, the Director of the Benson Memorial Center, and the Dean of Student Life and Leadership.
- Multicultural Center Student Coordinator Position AnnouncementPosition announcement for the Student Coordinator position at the Multicultural Center. Announcement includes General Description, Job Responsibilities, Appointment, Qualitifcations, and Application Information. Document is undated but requests applicants to submit applications by January 3, 1986.
- Senkewicz Multicultural Center SpeechSix page text of the speech given by Robert Senkewicz, then Vice President of Student Services, in 1986 for the dedication of the Multicultural Center.
- Student Resource Center Brochure 1985-1986A4 size tri-fold brochure from the Student Resource Center explaining the Center and the various student services it offers. It includes information about Black Student Resources, Chicano Student Resources, Project 50, International Student Resources, Women Student Resources, Disabled Student Resources, Exit Interviews, Multicultural Center, and Off-Campus Student Resources. From the 1985 to 1986 academic year.
Other Scanned Documents
The following documents may not have been added to SCU Digital Collections, either due to copyright or other reasons.
- Memo containing UNITY proposal for the MCC, April, 1985.Memo dated April 29, 1985 from Dean Erekson to other administrators at Santa Clara. The MCC proposal included in the memo is dated April 24, 1985. From record group 5EM, Office Records of the Student Resource Center, 1968-1995, Carton 3.
- The formation of the Multicultural Center becoming a political actor for the minority students at Santa Clara UniversityFinal paper for ETHN 199 written by Gabriel Negrete, June 29, 1996. From record group 5DB, Records of the Vice Provost for Student Life, 1920-2009, box 25.
- Memorandum of Understanding, Benson Center and Multicultural CenterMay 1, 2000. From record group 5DB, Records of the Vice Provost for Student Life, 1920-2009, box 26, folder: Benson Memorial Center Shapell Plan.
- SCU students protest: Demands include expansion of Ethnic StudiesPhotocopy of article from the San Jose Mercury News, June 3, 1999. From record group 5DB, Records of the Vice Provost for Student Life, 1920-2009, box 26, folder Benson Memorial Center Shapell Plan.
In the Student Newspapers
Articles from the 'Santa Clara' Student Newspaper
The following is a list of articles from the 'Santa Clara' student newspapers that include information about the Multicultural Center. Please note this is not a complete list; we encourage researchers to undergo their own searches in addition to viewing the below articles. Issues of the newspaper from 1922 to 2013 can be found in the Santa Clara Digital Collection.
- Housing survey shows need for dorm upkeep - 04/18/1985Briefly mentions MCC as an 'area of need' that is being examined by Student services.
- Bitterness over Resource Center - 10/17/1985Describes reactions to reorganization of various student organizations involved with MCC.
- Director named for new Student Resource Center - 10/17/1985The end of the article mentions an anticipated opening date for the MCC.
- Parks sets goals of Center - 01/23/1986Interview with Student Resource Center director Joyce Parks.
- Multiculturalism is alive - 01/24/2002MCC organizes and hosts a week of education, charity, food, and fun.
Editorials and Letters to the Editor
The following is a list of editorials, opinion pieces, and letters to the editor that appeared in the 'Santa Clara' student newspapers that include information about the Multicultural Center. Please note this is not a complete list; we encourage researchers to undergo their own searches in addition to viewing the below articles. Issues of the newspaper from 1922 to 2013 can be found in the Santa Clara Digital Collection.
- Letter to the Editor - Should minorities disappear? - 02/21/1985Letter was written by a member of the UNITY group.
- Letter to the Editor - Student Services VP claims distortion - 02/28/1985This letter was written in response to the letter 'Should minorities disappear?' that was published in the February 21, 1985 issue of The Santa Clara.
- Editorial - A joint effort? - 10/17/1985Editorial describes the lack of communication between the administration and student organizations when the Student Resources Center was created, thus eliminating individual student-centered offices such as the Office of Chicano Affairs, Office of Black Affairs, and the Women's Center.
- Letter to the Editor - Multicultural? - 11/21/1985This letter to the editor from the members of MEChA-El Frente voices their "disapproval of the decisions made concerning the Multicultural Center and the Student Resource Center."
- Open Letter - Minority Advisory Committee resignation letter - 02/13/1986Open letter published in the student newspaper explaining the reasons for and situation surrounding Minority Advisory Committee resignation as a whole.