Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIPOC SCU Student Archival Resources

Information regarding conducting research on the experiences of BIPOC students using SCU Archives & Special Collections materials.

Decorative: Student Organizations Banner

Gaps in Representation

The information on this page reflects organizations that have been mentioned in the range of student newspapers that have been digitized by SCU's Archives & Special Collections (1922 to 2012) and/or organizations that researchers (student and non-student alike) have inquired about in the past few years. If you don't see the organization you are interested in listed, it's because of many factors--the organization could have undergone a name change; could be new enough that we don't have information about that organization in the archives; or could have never submitted any materials to the archives (and, as archivists hold the power, it is possible that former archivists did not collect these materials). 

For instance, the Latinx Student Union was formerly named Movimiento Estudiantil Chicanx de Aztlan - El Frente (MEChA-El Frente). While we have articles that reference MEChA-El Frente, we don't have articles about the Latinx Student Union, because that name was not used in the documents we have in the archives. 

Additionally, digitization is fueled by research requests. The documents we have digitized reflect interest from researchers; the more research requests we have, the more we are able to prioritize this work. 

For more recent versions of the student newspaper, please visit the Santa Clara student newspaper website.

If you are involved in a student organization and wish to start a conversation about how to get your organization's materials into SCU's Archives & Special Collections, please email us at specialcollections@scu.edu

Asian Pacific-Islander Student Union

In the Student Newspapers

The Asian Pacific-Islander Student Union (APSU) is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. APSU is also recorded as the "Asian Pacific Student Union" in past issues. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "Asian Pacific-Islander Student Union" or "Asian Pacific Student Union" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention the Asian Pacific-Islander Student Union. You may need to use quotation marks ("Asian Pacific-Islander Student Union") in the "Search this record" field to uncover the exact phrase. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

In the Yearbooks

APSU may be mentioned in at least eight digitized yearbooks. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.

Barkada

In the Student Newspapers

Barkada, the Filipino student organization, is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "Barkada" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention Barkada. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

In the Yearbooks

Barkada may be mentioned in at least eleven digitized yearbooks. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.

Chinese Student Association (CSA)

In the Student Newspapers

The Chinese Student Association (CSA) is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "Chinese Student Association" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention the Chinese Student Association. You may need to use quotation marks ("Chinese Student Association") in the "Search this record" field to uncover the exact phrase. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

In the Yearbooks

CSA may be mentioned in at least five digitized yearbooks. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.

Igwebuike

As per the article Prospective students enjoy the performances of Love Jones, Igwebuike was "originally founded in 1967 as the Black Student Union," and "in 1984 the club changed its name to Igwebuike, which means 'in unity there is strength.'" Students interested in Igwebuike should also use the search term "Black Student Union" for materials created before 1984.

In Digital Collections

Several documents related to Igwebuike have been digitized and made available in SCU Digital Collections. These documents include event flyers, memos, and newsletters. 

In the Student Newspapers

Igwebuike, the Black/Pan-African student organization, is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "Igwebuike" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention Igwebuike. You may need to use quotation marks ("Igwebuike") in the "Search this record" field to uncover the exact phrase. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

In the Yearbooks

Igwebuike may be mentioned in at least eleven digitized yearbooks. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.

Intandesh

In the Student Newspapers

Intandesh, the South Asian student organization, is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "Intandesh" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention Intandesh. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

In the Yearbooks

Intandesh may be mentioned in at least seven digitized yearbooks. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.

Japanese Student Association (JSA)

In the Student Newspapers

The Japanese Student Association (JSA) is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "The Japanese Student Association" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention the JSA. You may need to use quotation marks ("The Japanese Student Association") in the "Search this record" field to uncover the exact phrase. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

In the Yearbooks

JSA may be mentioned in at least three digitized yearbooks. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.

Ka Mana`o O Hawai`i

In Digital Collections

Several documents related to Ka Mana'o O Hawai'i have been digitized and made available in SCU Digital Collections. These documents include programs and flyers about the club's annual Luau.

In the Student Newspapers

Ka Mana'o O Hawai'i is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "Ka Mana'o O Hawai'i" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention Ka Mana'o O Hawai'i. You may need to use quotation marks ("Ka Mana'o O Hawai'i") in the "Search this record" field to uncover the exact phrase. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

In the Yearbooks

Ka Mana'o O Hawai'i may be mentioned in several of our digitized yearbooks. Due to the punctuation in this organization's name, searching may be difficult. We recommend searching these documents with various punctuation options, such as "Ka Manao O Hawaii," "Ka Mana'o O Hawaii," etc. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.

MEChA-El Frente

Documents

Usually archival research involves an in-person appointment where the researcher makes discoveries while going through the contents of boxes of documents. In light of COVID-19 and other current concerns, we have opted to expedite access to materials that we have scanned per past research requests. Digital surrogates of those documents are linked below.

In Digital Collections

Several documents related to MEChA El-Frente and/or El Frente Estudiantil Chicano have been digitized and uploaded to SCU Digital Collections. These documents include letters, memos, flyers, and newspapers.

In the Student Newspapers

MEChA El-Frente is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "MECha El-Frente" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention MECha El-Frente. You may need to use quotation marks ("MECha El-Frente") in the "Search this record" field to uncover the exact phrase. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

Materials may also be listed under the acronym MASC, which stands for the Mexican-American Student Club. We believe this may be a previous incarnation of MECha El-Frente.

In the Yearbooks

MEChA El-Frente may be mentioned in at least five digitized yearbooks. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.

Vietnamese Student Association (VSA)

In the Student Newspapers

The Vietnamese Student Association (VSA) is mentioned in the digitized student newspapers. When you view the list and click on an issue, you will be presented with a "Search this record" field. Enter "Vietnamese Student Association" and click the red magnifying glass to find instances of the club name. Click the "Filtered" button to narrow down your results to only include pages that mention the VSA. You may need to use quotation marks ("Vietnamese Student Association") in the "Search this record" field to uncover the exact phrase. If your search results aren't highlighted, use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+F to search the screen for mentions of the phrase in the article transcript.

In the Yearbooks

VSA may be mentioned in at least eleven digitized yearbooks. Click on 'download' under the year you want, and use CTRL+F to search for the organization's name.