CTW1 Tutorial
In this tutorial, you’ll:
- Learn about the library spaces and explore our website
- Discover ways you can participate in library events and programs
- Practice searching for articles, books, and more in our collections
- Identify ways you can get help with your research assignments and projects
Fact Checking & Research Resources
- PolitifactFrom Poliifact's website:
Fact-checking journalism is the heart of PolitiFact. Our core principles are independence, transparency, fairness, thorough reporting and clear writing. The reason we publish is to give citizens the information they need to govern themselves in a democracy. - Citation StylesThe MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association. MLA style is the most commonly used to cite sources within the language arts, cultural studies, and other humanities disciplines. The 9th edition of the MLA Handbook was published in 2021 provides a clarification for citing a film/DVD. The format for both in-text citation and Works Cited citations is the same as the 8th edition.
Article:
Author - Article Title - Publication Title - Year - Page numbers
Boggs, Colleen Glenney. “Public Reading and the Civil War Draft Lottery.” American Periodicals, vol. 26, no. 2, 2016, pp. 149–66.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
Librarian
Paul de Barros
he/him/his
Contact:
On campus Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Virtual on Mondays and Thursdays.
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
Zoom room:https://scu.zoom.us/my/pdebarros
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
Zoom room:https://scu.zoom.us/my/pdebarros