Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowSearch for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
- Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new windowA team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.
Humanities Librarian
Leanna Goodwater
Contact:
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
408-554-5434
Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, English, Ethics, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Theatre & Dance
General Encyclopedias
INTRODUCTION TO LITERARY HISTORY AND INTERPRETATION
ENCYCLOPEDIAS OF AUTHORS AND THEIR WORKS
The following database and reference books are excellent sources to use for starting your research on American and British authors of all times and backgrounds. They provide an overview of the author's life and work and often include a summary of the changes in critical responses to those works over time.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowThis online database provides in-depth, richly illustrated encyclopedia articles on over 200,000 authors from all times and places worldwide, discussing their lives and works, as well as the historical, cultural, and social contexts in which they lived and wrote. It is an excellent source to start with in researching authors and surveying critical responses to their works over time.