Articles via Databases - ENVS 1A - Analyzing Green Rhetoric (Grudin) - Research Guides at Santa Clara University

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to discover scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Some content will be freely available on the web; most will only be accessible by subscription. This restricted link allows current University students, faculty, and staff to access the full text of licensed resources to which the University subscribes. Click on the "Find it @ SCU" links to see if the University has the article through its institutional database and e-journal subscriptions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES & STUDIES DATABASES

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides abstracts and references to the literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution, as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. 1981-present. Updated monthly.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary environmental database that includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles on global warming, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, green building, and more. Mostly abstracts with some full text.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Abstracts and full-text. Sources include newspapers, magazines, refereed journals, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.

Typing a full question or sentence into Google is probably what you're used to doing--and it works okay in Google. Databases work better when you use single words or short phrases, then narrow by the database functions.
Combining two different words/phrases with AND narrows your search to items that contain both words. e.g.: pollution AND politics
Combining two different words/phrases with OR expands your search to items that contain either word--good for synonyms or different forms of the same word. e.g.: pollution AND (politics OR political)
- Are you wondering "what are the parentheses for?" Well, I'll tell you! Remember learning about the distributive property in your basic algebra class years ago? The parentheses tell the database to distribute the word(s) on the outside of the parentheses through what's on the inside. So you're telling the database: "I'd like you to search for anything with both the word "pollution" AND politics, as well as anything with the word "pollution" AND political. Thanks, database!"