Research Guides: ETHN 185/POLI 195DW: Seminar on U.S. Racial and Ethnic Politics (Lai): SCU Databases

List of Helpful Databases to Support Your Research Assignments

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™ is really two databases, a current one, beginning in 1990 and including newspapers, magazines, and journals of the American ethnic and minority press, including scholarly ethnic studies journals.This is updated daily with new content. The other database is a historical file covering the years 1959-1989, incuding a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles, primary source documents, speeches, essays, photographs, graphs and charts along with Government agency reports. Including journal content covering issues related to race, including those of Indigenous communities.
Latin American Public Opinion Project This link opens in a new window
The Latin American Public Opinion Project produces surveys for the analysis of public perceptions on the role of government, political tolerance, citizen participation and corruption, among other issues in Latin America. It covers 34 nations including all of North, Central, and South America, as well as a significant number of countries in the Caribbean.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.

Political Science

Includes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.

Historical Statistics of the United States

The standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. It covers dozens of topics (slavery, American Indians, poverty, etc.) and includes 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources. It allows users to create and download custom tables.

OpinionArchives

Provides access to the complete archives of 16 leading journals of opinion, including Dissent, Commentary, Harper's, and The New Yorker.

Political Science Complete

Political Science Complete contains full-text for more than 520 journals and indexing & abstracts for over 2,900 titles, including top-ranked scholarly journals. The database has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs and over 36,000 full-text conference papers. The subject specific thesaurus contains over 17,500 terms to aid researchers.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

ETHN 185/POLI 195DW: Seminar on U.S. Racial and Ethnic Politics (Lai)

Newspaper Sources

List of Helpful Databases to Support Your Research Assignments

Political Science