Skip to Main Content
Santa Clara UniversityUniversity Library

RSOC 117: Is Scientology a Religion

  

RSOC 117- Is Scientology a Religion

RSOC 117:  Exploring Scientology

In your two library workshops, you will be 1) examining and contextualizing key scientology texts, and 2) identifying and pursuing questions that help you address the question of whether or not Scientology is a religion. 

Background Reading

Melton, J. Gordon. "Hubbard, L. Ron." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 4149-4150. Gale Virtual Reference Library.

 

Melton, J. Gordon. "An Introduction to New Religions." The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements. : Oxford University Press, September 02, 2009. Oxford Handbooks Online. 

Roof, Wade Clark. "North American Religious Communities." The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions. : Oxford University Press, September 02, 2009. Oxford Handbooks Online.

 

 

Cusack, Carole M. "Invention in “New New” Religions." The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements: Volume II. : Oxford University Press, July 07, 2016. Oxford Handbooks Online.

 

Cusack, Carole M. "Media Coverage of Scientology in the United States." The Oxford Handbook of Religion and the American News Media. : Oxford University Press, November 06, 2012. Oxford Handbooks Online.

 

Rothstein, Mikael. "Hagiography: A Note on the Narrative Exaltation of Sect Leaders and Heads of New Religions." The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements: Volume II. : Oxford University Press, July 07, 2016. Oxford Handbooks Online. 

 

Rothstein, Mikael. "Rituals and Ritualization in New Religions Movements." The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements: Volume II. : Oxford University Press, July 07, 2016. Oxford Handbooks Online.

 

Saliba, John A. "Psychology and the New Religious Movements." The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements. : Oxford University Press, September 02, 2009. Oxford Handbooks Online.