SoE Senior Design Thesis Research Assistance

Once the problem has been clearly defined in Step 1, the next logical step is researching and gathering information. This step is critical because a well-informed engineer makes better design decisions. Essentially, you cannot solve a problem effectively if you don’t fully understand it or the context around it.

Research at this stage serves several purposes:

• Understanding the problem context: After identifying the problem, engineers need to explore the environment, constraints, and requirements that surround it. This might include technical limitations, regulatory standards, available materials, or even social and cultural factors that could influence the design.
• Learning from existing solutions: Investigating how similar problems have been addressed in the past can prevent redundant effort and inspire innovative approaches. This could involve studying patents, academic research, case studies, or existing products.
• Identifying gaps and constraints: Research helps pinpoint where existing solutions fail or where improvements are needed. It also clarifies constraints like budget, timeline, safety regulations, and sustainability considerations, which will shape the design process.
• Gathering technical knowledge: Engineers may need to collect specific technical data—like material properties, system specifications, or software requirements—to inform the feasibility of potential solutions.

By building on the clearly defined problem from Step 1, research ensures that the engineering team is not working in the dark. It transforms a vague problem statement into a foundation of evidence, insights, and context, which guides the brainstorming and conceptual design in the following steps. In short, this step bridges what the problem is with what is possible and practical.

• Know which research tool you need.  Sometimes the library databases are much faster and more effective than google or google scholar.  Here's a handy guide to knowing when you will get the best results from each tool.

• Use a citation manager to help you keep track of your reference. 
• Remember that different authors will use different words for the same concepts.  Think flexibly and use synonyms to find different sources on the same topic.  How do you know what synonym to use?  If you are searching the library databases use the tools outlined in this video.
• Remember that searching is a step by step process.  If you don't find what you want the first time, you aren't doing something wrong.  Test out different search terms, add and subtract terms to narrow and widen the field.  Keep refining your search little by little to get the sources you are looking for.
• Refresh your knowledge on how to look for research materials with the Introduction to Library Resources for Engineers
• Feeling overwhelmed and don't know where to begin? Make an appointment with your Applied Sciences Librarian!

Even librarians need to troubleshoot research searches sometimes, so don't feel discouraged if you aren't immediately seeing results. The following are some common issues that can occur and solutions to fix them. And remember, when in doubt, contact your librarian!

Too Much Information

1. Use limiters when available. Databases provide a range of limiters such as limiting by language, journal articles only, peer reviewed journal articles only, date of publication, by subject heading, etc.  These are usually selected by a check box or pull-down menu.
2.  Look at an irrelevant record from your research results. Can you figure out why the database retrieved it?  Could the program have misinterpreted the meaning of your search term(s)?  Try to use a more specific term or a short phase that excludes the meaning you don't want. Or add in a new term to make the meaning of the old one more specific.
3. Check where in the record your search terms are.  The best matches for topics are in fields such as Subject or Title. Try using the Advanced or Expert Search option in the database to search in specific fields only.

Too Little Information

1. Are your search terms spelled correctly? Databases don't come with spell checkers. One misspelling can invalidate your whole search.
2. Be careful when using long phrases. When you use a phrase, all the words must be in the exact order as you've typed them in. Some databases default to putting the operator AND between the words as you type. Each AND operator added keeps narrowing down your search results.
3. Think of broader terms for the concept you need. Sometimes there is little written on a specific topic, but more in a general area.
4. Try using alternate terms or synonyms instead. 
5. Don't forget to use truncation - usually the asterisk * symbol to indicate both singular and plural word forms. Other word forms such as variations of spelling within words are indicated by other symbols--check under "help" for the database to see which are used.

Wrong Information

1. Wrong database?  Check the coverage of the database you are using - read "about this database." Does it cover the kinds of materials you need?  The right subjects?  The right types of documents?  The correct dates?
   • To find subject specific databases, ​​​​​​in the database search box use the pull-down menu "browse by subject" and choose the subject applicable to your work. 
2. BEST recommendation -  Ask a Librarian, follow the link or use the chat box on this page! You can ask a question by e-mail, phone, or chat. There is also a 24/7 web chat service staffed by SCU, AJCU (Jesuit-founded universities) librarians, and librarians hired by the system vendor. Since questions about search strategy are more complex, and normally require more time--these are best answered in person.