Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
Humanities Librarian
Leanna Goodwater
Contact:
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
408-554-5434
Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, English, Ethics, Modern Languages, Music, Philosophy, Theatre & Dance
Reviews of Film and Television Productions
The following are excellent sources for finding reviews of film or television productions of plays.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis online database indexes articles published in the most important journals on theatre, literature, and other fields in the humanities, as well as articles published in popular magazines, from 1982 to the present. To find reviews of film or television productions of plays, type the name of the film in quotes in the first search box, then type "motion picture" or "television" in the second search box.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis online database indexes articles published in popular, general interest magazines between 1890 and 1982. To find reviews of film or television productions of plays released during those years, type the name of the film in quotes in the first search box, then type "motion picture reviews" or "television" in the second box, and select "subject" from its drop-down box.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis online database indexes articles published in the most important journals on theatre, literature, and other fields in the humanities and social sciences, from 1907-1984. To find reviews of film or television versions of plays released before 1984, type the name of the film in quotes in the first search box, then type "motion pictures" or "television" in the second search box and select "subject" from its drop-down box.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing articles published in over 20,000 periodicals, and providing the full text of many of them, this online database is a good place to find reviews of film or television productions of plays in both popular magazines and scholarly journals. To find them, type the name of the film in quotes in the first search box, then type "film" or "television or TV" (not in quotation marks) in the second search box.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Folger Shakespeare Library, this is the most comprehensive listing available of everything written by or about Shakespeare since 1960. The easiest way to find reviews of film or television productions of Shakespeare's plays is to type the most significant or unique word in the title of the play and the word "film" or "television" (for example, Lear and television).
- Film Review IndexThis index tells where to find reviews of films released between 1882 and 1985.
- Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971This index tells where to find reviews of films released between 1930 and 1971.
- International Index to Film PeriodicalsThis index tells where to find reviews of films released between 1972 and 1991. Articles discussing earlier films in more depth can be found here, too.
- Film Literature Index (printed version)The printed volumes of this index tell where to find reviews of films released from 2001 to 2004. In-depth articles discussing earlier films can be found here, too.
Reference Books on Film
The following reference books contain articles about outstanding motion pictures of the past. The first covers silent films from 1902 - 1936. The following three cover motion pictures from the beginnings of sound films to 1981. In addition to detailed production credits, a plot summary, and critical analysis of each film, the articles often include a bibliography listing major reviews of the film.
The following annual series of reference books covers significant films of each year from 1982 to the present. The article for each film provides detailed production credits, an analysis of the film and critical reaction to it, and a bibliography listing where to find reviews of the film in periodicals and newspapers.