Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLI 150: The Presidency (Baker)

Finding Articles

When doing research at Santa Clara, professors will often ask you to find journal articles on a topic. These articles are collected in databases and most databases focus upon specific subject areas.

Getting Started

  • Go to the Library homepage https://www.scu.edu/library/ and click on the "Databases" tab.
  • Choose Browse by Subject or Browse by Title
  • If searching from off-campus, you will need to login to access library databases.

The Best Databases Are:

Getting the Full-Text of Articles

You have 4 options for getting the full-text of an article:

1. The database you are using has the full-text article. Just click on the link (pdf version is better).

2. If not, click on FINDIt@SCU Libraries:

  • Is the article available in another database (e.g., JSTOR, OmniFile)? If so click on the link and follow the citation information (volume, issue number, date of publication, etc.)
  • Does the library have this journal in print? The library may have the journal, but not the year you need.

3. If none of the above work, you can request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Most articles will arrive electronically within 1-2 business days. This is a free service for SCU members.

Page last revised on December 15, 2020