Research Guides: PHSC 190: Public Health Capstone (Mackenzie): Web Resources

Web Resources for Evidence-Based Public Health

WEB WARNING ABCs

Authority - Is the website from an authoritative source? Check "About Us."
Bias - Is the website trying to sell you goods or an idea?
Currency - Is the information current? Check the website date

Although excellent .org, .com, .net sites exist, use the search engine's Advanced Search to get more
reliable results by limiting the domain name to .gov or .edu -- or use Google Scholar.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Under the Research Tools & Data tab, see evidence-based reports. From U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
AHRQ Effective Healthcare Program
Check Tools and Resources, Search for Research in the left sidebar. Top tabs: browse What's New. From U.S. Dept of Health & Human Services.
American Public Health Association
See Public Health Resources link.
CDC Guide to Community Preventive Services
Topics tab: mental health, obesity, and other physio-socio conditions and diseases. Community Guide tab offers Evidence Gaps and more. Methods tab, see Systemic Reviews Method for a detailed how-to.
Cochrane Library
Cochrane is known for evidence-based health and medicine. Browse disorders, diseases, and health issues by topic.
Community Commons
The Maps & Data section allows you to create maps and reports that include visual and statistical information you choose. You can save your maps, privately or publicly; export them as jpgs or pdfs. You must a free user profile, but can keep your info to a minimum.
Health Education Resource Exchange (HERE)
Professional Resources tab has information on assessment, health communication, etc. Although from Washington State Health Dept., many of the fact sheets under the Materials tab have general information.
Healthy People 2020
Under the Implement tab of this federal government website, look for a link to Evidence-based Resources, state plans, mapping tool.
Healthy People 2020: Public Health - Generating & Applying the Evidence
This 26-page pdf from Healthy People 2020 defines evidence-based public health, provides development for systematic reviews and guidelines, discusses challenges, and more.
Knowledge for Health
Intenational focus, especially developing countries. Topics include knowledge management and mobile technology for health. Publications & Resources: reports and more. A U.S. Agency for International Development and John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health collaboration.
MedLine Plus
NACCHO Model Practices Database
National Association of County and City Health Officials' searchable database of local health agency model practices, divided into community, environmental, and public health categories.
National Network of Public Health Institutes (NNPHI)
Explore evidence-based state public-health programs and a toolkit that includes assessments and more.
PHPartners.org
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. Our mission: Helping the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health.
RE-AIM (Reach, Effectiveness, Adoption, Implementation, Maintenance)
Five steps to translate research into community action. Publications link: many are open access. Resources & Tools link gives examples of each of the 5 steps. A collaboration of health agencies, institutes, and universities.
Tools for Implementing an Evidence-Based Approach in Public Health Practice
A succinct article from CDC on Evidence-Based Public Health--history and steps--with a toolbox of urls on the side and a list of references.
World Health Organization: Europe - Data and Evidence
Browse WHO info areas by health topics, countries, publications, data & evidence. Includes downloadable documents.

California Health Data

AskCHIS - California Health Information Survey
A service of the UCLA Center for Health Policy Research. Create an account to access this free searchable data set. You can view the data by ethnic group, county, etc.
AskCHIS Neighborhood Edition
AskCHIS Neighborhood Edition (AskCHIS NE) provides health estimates for California's diverse population at the local level (zip codes and cities). With AskCHIS NE, you can get estimates on top health indicators for your zip code, city, county and legislative district!
How to Cite Data from AskCHIS

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

PHSC 190: Public Health Capstone (Mackenzie)

Quick Links

Google Scholar

Web Resources for Evidence-Based Public Health

California Health Data