The University Library works with the platforms listed on this page to supply streaming video content to support course instruction.
Swank Digital Campus provides a customizable academic streaming library of over 25,000 feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios, including Walt Disney, Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more.
Kanopy is a video-streaming platform dedicated to thoughtful and thought-provoking films. Founded in 2008, Kanopy was established to provide academic institutions with essential films that foster learning and conversation. Content providers include A24, PBS, California Newsreel, Paramount, Criterion Collection, HBO Documentary Films, Kino Lorber, Cohen Media Group, Cinema Guild, Bleeker Street, Media Education Foundation, Dos Vatos, First Run Features, New Day Films, and Psychotherapy.net.
Effective October 7, 2022, Santa Clara University Library expanded Kanopy access to include access to Kanopy's BASE Subscription titles in addition to films individually licensed per faculty request. Kanopy BASE Subscription content includes nearly 10,000 titles (many of which are exclusive to Kanopy) which cover multiple disciplines from diverse suppliers including PBS, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, New Day Films, Film Movement, and SHOUT Factory.
Alexander Street publishes more than 80 collections totaling many millions of pages, audio tracks, videos, images, and playlists. Collections across the curriculum—in literature; music; women's history; black history; psychological counseling and therapy; social and cultural history; drama, medical, theatre, film, and the performing arts; religion; sociology; and other emerging areas. SCU currently subscribes to the collection Counseling and Therapy in Video and also licenses videos individually.
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows viewing of streaming videos from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, and personalize folders. Content providers include BBC, ABC News, NBC News, A&E Television Networks, Cambridge Educational, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution. Participating distributors include Bullfrog Frilms, dGenerate Films, The Fanlight Collection, First Run Features, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, KimStim Films, MediaStorm, National Film Board of Canada, ScorpionTV, and Terra Nova Films.
Film Platform collaborates with some of the industry’s leading filmmakers and content providers around the world to bring the finest documentary films to any audience willing and wanting to learn. The collection is meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase meaningful documentaries of social, political, and cultural importance. Film Platform works with an academic advisory board to ensure that each of our films upholds the highest educational standards and speaks directly to today’s most pressing academic topics and concerns.
Ambrose Video has access to over 700 Educational videos including timely science and history topics. New releases include: Career Decisions: Physical Therapy, The Neuroscience of Addiction Extended Interviews, Behavioral Science, AP Human Geography, Great Directors, Great Authors of the British Isles and Great Irish Authors, BBC Classics such as all 37 BBC Shakespeare Plays, James Burkes' Connections, Ascent of Man and more.
Digitalia Film Library (streaming video) is a multilingual collection of films from Spain, France and other European countries, North American Classic films, and Latin American films from South America, Central America and Caribbean including Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Brazil, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Guatemala and others.
The University Library also licenses films from the catalogs below to host on SCU's Panopto platform.
"GOOD DOCS are films that do good in the world. Our award-winning collection engages and inspires students by featuring rarely heard stories about individuals and communities working towards a more equitable world. We champion creative expression and complex films that provoke critical thinking. GOOD DOCS represents established documentarians and passionate new filmmakers driven by their experiences as educators, academics, journalists, artists, social workers, community members, and activists." - Good Docs About Us
Women Make Movies - "Our acclaimed collection of nearly 700 films is used by thousands of cultural, educational and community organizations across North America and throughout the world. We work in collaboration with international film festivals, national broadcasters, and local community groups to deliver media that enriches public dialogue and changes lives. Our long-standing commitment to diversity shows in our catalog, more than half of which is produced by women from different cultures, as well as by LGBTQI women, older women, women with disabilities, and women of color." - WMM About Us Distribution
Cinema Guild - Based in New York City, The Cinema Guild is a distributor of independent, foreign and documentary films. The company was founded by Philip and Mary-Ann Hobel, producers known for their work in documentaries and features, including Tender Mercies, winner of two Academy Awards.
Third World Newsreel (TWN) is an alternative media arts organization that fosters the creation, appreciation and dissemination of independent film and video by and about people of color and social justice issues.
It supports innovative work of diverse forms and genres made by artists who are intimately connected to their subjects through common bonds of ethnic/cultural heritage, class position, gender, sexual orientation and political identification. TWN promotes the self-representation of traditionally marginalized groups as well as the negotiated representation of those groups by artists who work in solidarity with them.
Ultimately, whether documentary, experimental, narrative, traditional or non-traditional, the importance of the media promoted by the organization is its ability to effect social change, to encourage people to think critically about their lives and the lives of others, and to propel people into action.