Get Help 24/7
SCU Writing Center - The HUB
Need writing assistance? See the SCU Writing Center - known as The HUB.
Multi-Disciplinary Encyclopedias
At the beginning of the research process, it's very useful to get an overview of your topic. Encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources are a great way to get started and to find background information on your topic from various perspectives.
- Gale eBooksProvides the full text of over 200 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
- Credo ReferenceAllows you to search for articles from over 600 different electronic reference books and also works as a gateway to a very wide array of other information sources, including images, audio and video. It is a really excellent place to begin research with 'Topic Pages' offering authoritative overviews and a Mind Map feature to assist in narrowing and focusing research and identifying keywords for database searching.
Social Issues Encyclopedia
If you are researching a contemporary topic related to a social issue (such as human trafficking, LGBT or Transgender rights, mass incarceration, etc.), try the CQ Researcher database. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day complete with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies, and more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowOnline version of this weekly publication, covering the most current and controversial issues of the day complete with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Full text of all articles published since 1991.
Literature Resource Center
If you are researching a work of literature, try the Gale Literature Resource Center database.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of literary criticism and reviews, biographies, original works of literature, multimedia resources, and links to selected web resources on authors and their works. Covers 130,000 authors from all times and places. Updated continually.