Finding Public Health Data and Statistics

This federal agency coordinates the National Center for Health Statistics and its FastStats interface. FastStats provides selected statistics on a variety of health topics, as well as various reports and publications. Statistics are broken down by specific populations.

The Division of Program Statistics provides American Indian/Alaska Native demographic and patient care information including statistical tables and charts discussing health trends and regional differences.

This office publishes Minority Population Profiles which provides statistics by minority group or health topic.

Access to data sets for secondary analysis, some with options for online analysis.

Collection of reports and fact sheets, many with statistical information and with a focus on policy and health care coverage. Made available through the Kaiser Family Foundation.

Collection of reports and fact sheets, many with statistical information.

The National Longitudinal Survey of Mature and Young Women includes 5,083 women who were ages 30-44 when first interviewed in 1967, while the Young Women’s cohort includes 5,159 women who were ages 14-24 when first interviewed in 1968. Data for both cohorts are available through 2003, when active surveying was discontinued.

"The National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA), located within ICPSR, is funded by the National Institute on Aging. NACDA's mission is to advance research on aging by helping researchers to profit from the under-exploited potential of a broad range of datasets. NACDA acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use. By preserving and making available the largest library of electronic data on aging in the United States, NACDA offers opportunities for secondary analysis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance."

This agency which is a division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides access to statistics on the older population. It also links to the annual Profile of Older Americans and data on older adults with disabilities.

The Population Studies Database brings together in one searchable location information about a range of population studies of interest to the research on aging community.

The 2007 National Home and Hospice Care Survey (NHHCS) is one in a continuing series of nationally representative sample surveys of U.S. home health and hospice agencies. It is designed to provide descriptive information on home health and hospice agencies, their staffs, their services, and their patients. NHHCS was first conducted in 1992 and was repeated in 1993, 1994, 1996, 1998, and 2000, and most recently in 2007.

"The National Nursing Home Survey (NNHS) is a continuing series of national sample surveys of nursing homes, their residents, and their staff. Although each of these surveys emphasized different topics, they all provided some common basic information about nursing homes, their residents, and their staff. All nursing homes included in this survey had at least three beds and were either certified (by Medicare or Medicaid) or had a state license to operate as a nursing home."

Detailed information and statistics on population aging and the older population are critical for understanding the impact on society and the economy and to inform policies and programs.

America’s Health Rankings has provided an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.

Use this portal to find the latest data on a variety of topics.

The California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) is the nation's largest state health survey and source of data on Californians, as well as on the state's various racial and ethnic groups.

This County Health Ranking web site provides access to the 50 state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health. Each county receives a summary rank for its health outcomes and health factors and also for the four different types of health factors: health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and the physical environment. Each county can also drill down to see specific county-level data (as well as state benchmarks) for the measures upon which the rankings are based.

Statistics on mortality, morbidity, health behavior, and health outcomes aid our communities and leaders in developing effective public health policies and programs. Public Health Department data is used by many stakeholders for grant writing, strategic planning, program evaluation, resource allocation, and prioritization.​