Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHST 100: Advanced Writing for Research in Social Sciences

Getting Started with Databases

Get Started: Use Disciplinary Databases for Narrow Searching

While OneSearch may be good for getting started in interdisciplinary or lower division courses, selecting and using databases specific to a particular discipline is a more effective and efficient strategy for upper division or discipline-specific courses.

E.g.:  Child Studies majors: using APA PsycInfo is likely to be a better strategy

To locate databases specific to a discipline, select "Databases" off the Library homepage and then "Browse by Subject" -- shown below.

In addition, some recommended databases for Child Studies are listed below; reach out for help selecting or using those tools.

To find an article (Magazine, Scholarly), enter each different concept in its own search box. 

Search terms with synonyms might be:

  • racis* OR bias* OR discrimination* OR prejudice*
  • practice* OR intervention* OR therap*

(the * asterisk looks for all words that share that root, like racist, racism)

Database: Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition)

Example:

Health Source examples search 1

Database: Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition)

To find an article (Magazine, Scholarly), enter each different concept in its own search box. 

Search terms with synonyms might be:

true crime stories / crime drama / true crime entertainment

 

Example 2:

 

Databases

Education & Psychology

Social Sciences Databases

Women & Gender Studies

Ethnic Studies

 

Political Science and Public Policy

Health