ENGL 14: Introduction to Literary History and Interpretation (Tremblay-McGaw)

This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on modern languages and their literatures. To find secondary sources about an author, type the author's surname first (for example -- Dickinson, Emily) in the first search box, then select "Subject Terms" from the drop-down list in the box to its right. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the second search box. You can learn more about how to use the MLA International Bibliography by watching this short video:

A useful complement to the MLA International Bibliography, this database lists books, articles, and some book reviews written since 1920 about works of literature written in English. To find sources about an author, type the author's name (surname first) in the first search box, then select "Author as subject" from the drop-down list in the box to its right. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the second search box.

This database contains the full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, as well as literary movements and topics. This is an excellent source to survey some of the most important criticism about an author and to observe how critical assessments have changed over time.

Containing the full text online of criticism, articles from reference books, and reviews of authors and their works, this is a helpful database to get started on your research. If you are looking for critical analysis of a particular literary work, type its title in the "Name of Work" search box, then type the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Dickinson, Emily) in the "Person - By or About" search box.

This database is an excellent source for starting research on poems and their authors. It provides the full text online of over 250,000 poems, critical commentaries on 1,000 well-known poems, biographies of approximately 500 poets, and a "Listening Room" featuring notable contemporary poets reading aloud a selection of poems by many authors. It also can be used to find copies of poems published elsewhere, as it supplies over 450,000 citations to where poems may be found in printed books. In addition to poems written originally in English, it also provides information about and access to a wide range of poetry from all times and places, written in many other languages.

This database provides biographical and critical information about the lives and works of over one thousand British women writers, as well as materials useful for understanding the critical and historical contexts of their writings.

A full-text collection of pre-Victorian women’s writings in English, produced by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of over 420 texts published between 1400 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. Genres represented include non-fiction, verse, drama, and fiction.

This database provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities and social sciences. It is a good source in which to find recent scholarly articles that provide critical analysis of works of literature.

This database provides online access to the full text of articles published in back issues of scholarly journals in many fields of study. It is a good source in which to find scholarly articles that provide critical analysis of works of literature.