Research Guides: ENGL 115: Argumentation (Billings): Biotechnology Research

Best Databases

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides author-written abstracts for books, book reviews, and articles published in more than 1,600 journals in philosophy and related fields. 1940-present. Updated quarterly.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete contains full-text for more than 520 journals and indexing & abstracts for over 2,900 titles, including top-ranked scholarly journals. The database has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs and over 36,000 full-text conference papers. The subject specific thesaurus contains over 17,500 terms to aid researchers.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. About 60% of the titles covered are published outside the United States. 1975-present. Updated monthly.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the life sciences journal literature from 1980-present. Coverage is international, and includes biology, medical research, clinical studies, agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals. Additionally provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of academic journals, professional publications, and other sources. Has comprehensive coverage for a variety of applied science and technology specialties such as applied mathematics, energy resources & research, biomedical materials, robotics, and other sci-tech applications.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering, and information technology with more than seven million records taken from 3,500 technical & scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. 1896-present. Updated weekly.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes MedLine. The National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database. It includes such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environment health. 1966-present. Click here for our PubMed Quick Guide.

Sample Searches

The following searches are a limited sample. You could do the same searches in other databases from the Best Databases list as well.

Sample Search 1: Ethics of Biotechnology
Database: Philosopher's Index
Line 1: biotechnology (All subjects & indexing)
Line 2: ethics OR bioethics (All subjects & indexing)

This search retrieved 470 citations.

Sample Search 2: Politics & Biomedical Research
Databases: Political Science Complete and Applied Science and Technology Source

Line 1: biomedical or biotechnology (Abstracts)
Line 2: politic* or polic* (Subject Terms)

This retrieved 684 citations, 467 of which were peer reviewed.

Sample Search 3: Genetic Engineering for Babies
Database: Biological Abstracts

Line 1: genetic engineering (Topic)
Line 2: babies or fetus* (Topic)

This search retrieved 349 citations.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

ENGL 115: Argumentation (Billings)

Best Databases

Sample Searches