Chat with a Librarian
24/7 Research Help is Available
Librarian
Articles from SCU Library Databases
Additional Databases Specific to This Class, Islam
These databases, provided by the SCU Library, will primarily give you secondary sources: largely journal articles, and even worse, mere references to books and other tantalizing items.
- Oxford Bibliographies - Islamic Studies This link opens in a new windowContains lists of books and journal articles arranged alphabetically by topic on a wide range of scholarly research related to Islam, including history, theology, law, philosophy, literature, art, and architecture.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present, and publication dates go from the late 19th century to the present.
- Historical Abstracts with full-text This link opens in a new windowContains articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world (except United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, and publication dates go from the 19th century to the present.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials contains records of journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, commentaries, and obituaries related to religion from 1949 to present and a few from the 19th century.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowReligious and Theological Abstracts contains records and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, and reviews of scholarly literature in the field of religion and theology from 1949 to present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to images and the full text of articles in back issues of selected scholarly journals related to the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.