Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 27/127: Public and Digital History (Gudgeirsson)

Scholarly vs Academic vs Peer Reviewed

Scholarly and academic are interchangeable words when used to describe the type of information you are expected to consult in college.

Peer-reviewed or refereed is a subset of academic information, in that it is an even more stringent quality control on your source, and it only applies to articles.

Indeed you can get academic and peer-reviewed articles from Google Scholar and other open websites, but the best strategy is to use databases provided by the library. Other information you find online (news, personal websites, social media) are not scholarly, but can be useful for different ends.

Picking a Database

SCU subscribes to hundreds of databases that provide access to proprietary information in every discipline represented in the degrees awarded at our school.

For this class, you will want to use databases that are specific to history.

Once you exhaust the history options, you can also try multidisciplinary databases, but you will have to use more or different keywords since you are not solely searching a body of historical research.

While many of these articles will contain reproductions or large quotes from primary sources, they are considered secondary sources.

History Databases from SCU

To find scholarly articles on your topic (secondary sources), try the following databases:

History Databases

Social Science Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

To get a list of all the databases available at SCU, go to the library home page and click on the DATABASES tab.