Research Guides: ENGL 2A Library Orientation (Lasley): Activity: Database Report

Database Report Instructions

Your group has been assigned the database below to survey.

Each person in the group will try to find information in the database about

Answer the following questions about your database:

How did you search for a scholarly source? What keywords did you use? Does it matter if you search or browse?
Post the title of the article you found.
Now that you've looked in one of the library databases, do you think there is a different library database that would be better?

Post answers to whiteboard using the provided Post-It notes.

Be prepared to share your insights with the rest of the class.

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals from 1871 to present on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
More than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, reports and insight on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 countries, with content that ranges from forecasts, surveys, white paper reports, and daily data. Insight reports cover the market, consumers, companies, as well as e-commerce.

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above.

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press from the late 1960s to the present.

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to abstracts, articles, conference proceedings, data sets and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Includes Social Science Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Use Post-Its to answer the questions above