Chat with a Librarian
24/7 Research Help is Available
Librarian
Ice-Breaker
Grab Some Post-Its!
Answer the following question on a Post-It and slap it on the whiteboard.
What's your hidden identity?
Workshop Goals Today
Welcome! In the workshop today, you will have the opportunity to:
- Explore library databases that provide you with peer-reviewed (academic/scholarly) articles and other credible sources
- Practice answering a research question using library databases, and gauging the encountered sources for relevancy and credibility
It's Critical: Access Peer Reviewed Information Through the Library
Library-provided databases are part of that 90% of information found only in the deep web.
The SCU Library subscribes to hundreds of these databases that are hidden in the deep web.
You have three options to access these databases:
-
Use the library's website to access the list of databases and select one to enter and search within (see image below indicating where to navigate)
-
Click the direct link to the databases page to access the list and pick one
-
Use the curated list of databases on this research guide's articles tab to pick a database, enter it, and search
The Internet's Own Boy
Clips from The Internet's Own Boy:
The Story of Aaron Swartz (2014)
Search Strategies in Action
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
How could you search this database?
Example 1:
Example 2:
Example 3:
