Biology Based Images
Mix of CC, Public Domain, and Copyrighted Images & Videos
- Image Guide by SCU LibraryFrom general image collections to subject-specific collections.
- Gale in Context: Environmental StudiesEnvironmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Abstracts and Full-text available. Sources include newspapers, magazines, refereed journals, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for more than 160 nations with an interactive map.
- CDC's Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Most images are free to use, but check the credits, some are copyright protected.
- FirstGov ImagesA wide-ranging collection of photographs, illustrations, charts, and graphs at the U.S. federal government's main website. At the search box, top center, choose the images tab and enter search terms.
- Gray's AnatomyIllustrations from the Gray's Anatomy book, on all parts and systems of the body. Caveat: Ads are a slight annoyance.
- Internet Atlas of HistologyCellular-level slides showing a broad range of human anatomy: from skin to reproductive systems to the circulatory system and bones.
- PEIR (Pathology Education Informational Resource) Digital LibraryThe PEIR Digital Library is a multidisciplinary public access image database for use in medical education.
Streaming Videos
Finding credible, quality videos can take a little work.
One way: Search in Kanopy, a streaming video service the SCU Library subscribes to.
Another way: Type your topic in the Google search box, limiting to reliable domain names.
For example: sustainability site:.gov, or sustainability site:.edu.
Then choose the Videos link below the Google search bar.
- Biology related videos on KanopyA list of videos about different aspects of Biology.
- Discovery Channel videosThousands of video clips on a variety of topics.
- National Geographic videosVideo clips from the National Geographic (Nat Geo) TV, Nat Geo Wild, and Nat Geo News. Look for use permissions.
- U.S. Geological Survey media galleryUSGS media gallery includes a video section covering biology, climate change, water issues, etc.
- NRDC (National Resource Defense Council) VideosVideos from the Natural Resources Defense Council, a national, 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization of scientists, lawyers and environmental specialists and more than 2 million members and online activists, and our affiliate the NRDC Action Fund.
- Acid Test: The global challenge of ocean acidificationVideo created in 2010. Related videos are available at the NRDC website. Be sure to look at other videos offered.
- Acid Test: Science behind the movieProvides journal citations and links to full-text articles that support NRDC's Acid Test video.
- Nature online video streaming archiveAt the Nature publishing site, videos about dozens of topics from ocean biodiversity and Hominid evolution to space-time and ancient tsunamis are available.
- Of the Land: GMOs and Industrial FoodOf the Land is a detailed exploration into our current food supply as well as a variety of organic options available to people who want to support sustainable farming methods.
- Make Me Live ForeverIn Make Me Live Forever, Michael Mosley goes on a journey to the logical conclusion of modern medicine: triumph over death. He visits Cambridge academic, Aubrey de Grey, who is offering prize money for the scientist who can most effectively rejuvenate aging mice. But Michael wants more than longevity - he is seeking immortality. He witnesses the application of stem cell work; restoring vision, constructing new organs which offers the chance of replacing body parts.
- Genetic EngineeringExplore the history of genetic engineering, which has roots in the imaginary hybrid creatures of ancient myth. Learn how real hybrids can be made by splicing genes for desired traits into the genome of an organism. Then discover how this brave new technology is being used.
DVDs available at SCU Library
- Biotechnology on the farm and in the factory [videorecording] : agricultural and industrial applications
A group of experts discuss the issues and challenges concerning the use of biotechnology in agriculture and industry in the twenty-first century. - The ethics of biotechnology [videorecording]
Confronting viewers with the concept of how biotechnology has the power to change the world, a group of experts discuss the ethical and moral implications of biotechnology in the twenty-first century. - Journey to planet Earth [videorecording]
Season 1, Vols. A -- C: Rivers of Destiny: Journey to four major river systems of the world to investigate the environmental problems facing those whose lives depend upon the health of their river. The Urban Explosion: Journey to four mega-cities and investigate investigate a major challenge of the 21st century -- the shelter and sustainability of the world's urban populations without destroying the environment. Land of Plenty, Land of Want: Investigate the fundemental dilemma facing farmers throughout the world -- how to feed the Earth's growing population without endangering the environment.
Season 2, Vols. D -- F: On the Brink: Explore environmental pressures leading to violence, terrorism, regional conflict. Seas of Grass: Investigate the threat to the grasslands that cover a third of the Earth's surface. Hot Zones: Are we winning the battle to prevent global outbreaks of infectious diseases?
Season 3, Vols. G -- J: Future Conditional: Investigate the link between the spread of toxic pollution and the future health of our planet. The State of the Planet: Investigate some critical environmental questions facing us in the 21st century. The State of the Planet's Wildlife: Half the world's wildlife face extinction over the next fifty years in what scientists are calling the "sixth great extinction". The State of the Ocean's Animals: Many of the animals whose primary habitat are the world's oceans and waterways are under attack by climate change, sea-level rise, over-fishing, habitat destruction. The State of the Planet's Oceans: Investigate's the health sustainability of the ocean's , with emphasis on climate change and affects on marine-reserves, fisheries, and coastal ecosytems.