Biology Research Resources

Using law and biological data, the Center for Biological Diversity takes action for critically endangered animals and plants worldwide. Click on the "Publications" tab to see reports.

The Convention on Biological Diversity is dedicated to promoting sustainable development. Conceived as a practical tool for translating the principles of Agenda 21 into reality, the Convention recognizes that biological diversity is about more than plants, animals and micro organisms and their ecosystems – it is about people and our need for food security, medicines, fresh air and water, shelter, and a clean and healthy environment in which to live.

Lists the world's endangered animals and plants. Click "Find a Creature" tab at the top of the webpage to search by region.

A partnership between the scientific community and the public, EOL created a database with authoritative information for each of Earth's 1.8 million species. Check the bottom of the main webpage for links to podcasts and more.

The Environmental Impact Classification for Alien Taxa (EICAT) is the IUCN global standard for measuring the severity of environmental impacts caused by animals, fungi and plants living outside their natural range.

IUCN lists and assesses the status of endangered species worldwide.

The goal of the scientists who started IPSO is to save the world's oceans: through research, finding solutions and advocacy. Click the "Resources" tab, and a variety of reports are available.

Oceana is an advocacy group for ocean conservation. Under the "Newsroom" tab are a variety of reports.

International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) and World Commission on Protected Areas (WRPA) partnered up to promote the establishment of a global, representative system of effectively managed Marine Protected Areas whilst also promoting Other Effective Conservation Measures.

FAO's Biotechnology section includes publications such as food biotechnology for smallholders in developing countries. Other reports and articles are also available.

The United Nations site was designed for policy makers who need to understand ocean issues, for scientists, and for students who need data and "approaches to sustainability." Links to various issues and uses as well as a Geography section.

The U.S. CDC website has broad topic areas, each with a wealth of information: Disease & Conditions, Environmental Health, Injury, Violence & Safety, Workplace Health, and more. CDC also has an image library, statistics, and news.

The website includes information on diet and disease, food safety, weight and obesity, vegetarian nutrition, dietary supplements, and more.

The website includes FAQs, blogs, information on genetically modified organisms (GMOs), and more.

Medline Plus offers 750 searchable topics on conditions, diseases, wellness; a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, health news, and links to other online health resources.

This consumer-oriented National Library of Medicine guide to genetics offers a bit of everything: cells and DNA, how genes work, genomic research, what results of genetic testing mean, etc.

NIH site provides a link to the Education Kit, information on aspects of the human genome from genetic variation to gene sequencing to ethical concerns using genetic material.

NIH is the funding agency for biomedical research and information about stem cells, their use, ethical issues surrounding stem cell use, U.S. policy and politics about stem cells, a glossary, links to relevant articles, as well as a search engine are available.

Under "Resources & Grants," check "Related Reports" and other links.

NPR's weekly science talk show, on Fridays from 2 - 4 p.m. Eastern time. The show focuses on science in the news, including discussions with experts. The website includes links to radio streams, podcasts, science blogs, specific topics of interest, and more.

The USGS Ecosystems mission area provides science to help America achieve sustainable management and conservation of biological resources in wild and urban spaces, and all spaces in between.

Icons on the left side of the screen link to information on oceans' and coasts' threatened and protected marine environments.

Site offers reports, specific explorations, history, educational materials, and a gallery of ocean flora/fauna, maps, videos, etc.

U.S. endangered species' laws and policies, species information and lists, conservation tools, as well as links to critical ecosystem information.

National Policy for the Stewardship of the Ocean, Coasts, and Great Lakes includes framework for coastal and marine planning, final recommendations of the Ocean Policy Task Force, etc. See link to "National Ocean Council."

The U.S. Department of Energy Bioenergies site includes bioenergy FAQs and, under the "Services" tab, a publications link that allows a bioenergy "library" search.

Under "Sciences & Technology," a link to biomass provides information and links to the National Bioenergy Center and its publications.

Part of Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the center provides a board range of information under the "Research" tab.

Includes a "Research" tab to explore full-text topics; Information from its four institutes: Coastal, Ocean Life, Deep-Sea, and Climate Change. SIte has informative images, videos, blog links, and more.

NGO Ocean Conservancy advocates for marine environments via science, policy, and protections. Work areas include Gulf of Mexico restoration (See 118 page report, pdf), Gulf of Mexico fisheries, the Arctic, Trash-free seas, Marine protected areas, as as well as Marine spatial planning.

CERES is a portal for California environmental information. In CEIC, search or browse state and local sources, from endangered species recovery programs to wetlands, weeds, and parks informaiton.

The California State Council's two goals: Provide a more reliable water supply and Protect, restore, and enhance the California Delta ecosystem.

This state website provides information on its programs (by topic or region) plus documents, such as its strategic plan: A vision for your ocean and coast.

Local coastal planning programs include detailed status, history and current maps. General coastal management programs and other documents are older.

Provides pathways to California endangered and threatened species lists via "Our Programs."

Click on any of California's ten regions on the bioregions map to see vegetation maps, land ownership, threatened species, reports and publications, photos, and more.

Includes a stem cell primer, disease therapies in the pipeline, as well as the role of stem cells in various diseases.

There are maps, background and links to the estuarine reserve's resources.

TV Channel KQED's multimedia series exploring Northern California science, environment and nature.

SFEI conducts studies, synthesizes data, and collaborates on issues facing the San Francisco estuary. Document include reports on invasive species, etc.

SFEI partnered with scientists to produce this "science-based assessment of the health of San Francisco Bay."

LIMPETS offers site-specific protocols and data sheets of its Davenport Landing site.

The Monterey Bay Sanctuary site offers reports on the bay that covers a wide variety of topics and includes book chapters, peer-reviewed journals, technical and field reports, conference presentations, etc. Recent years' reports link to full-text pdfs.