California Government
Constitutions of the State of California
- Constitution of the State of California (1849)
- Constitucion del Estado de California (1849)
- Constitution of the State of California (1849 - easy to read English version)
- California Constitution (current version)
CA State Flower: Golden Poppy
Executive Branch
The Governor's Gallery
This website is a tribute to the individuals who served as California chief executives from 1849 to the present. The Governors' Gallery contains a portrait, a biography, and inaugural addresses for each governor. The site also includes information about first ladies and first partners.
California Government
This is the primary portal to state government websites.
Elections and Voter Information
Franchise Tax Board
Tax forms and instructions are located here. You can also check your refund status.
California Code of Regulations
The online source for regulations adopted, amended, or repealed by state agencies pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act (APA).
California Regulatory Notice Register
The California Regulatory Notice Register contains notices of proposed regulatory actions by state regulatory agencies to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations contained in the California Code of Regulations.
California State Archives
The California State Archives collects, catalogs, preserves, and provides access to the State's most extensive collection of legislative records, and is frequently used by public, state and local government, as well as the Legislature, courts, and legal community.
California Roster 2022
The "Cal Roster" is a listing of California's public officeholders, including United States government officials, the Constitutional officers, members of the State Senate and Assembly, the Judicial branch, county officials, and incorporated city and town officials.
CA State Insect: Dogface Butterfly
Legislative Branch
California Legislative Information
The official site for California Legislative information.
California State Library
The State Library is the central reference and research library for state government agencies and the legislature. The Library is also open to the public for research purposes.
CA State Bird: California Quail
Judicial Branch
California Courts: Opinions
Opinions of the California Supreme Court and the Courts of Appeal. The official report of opinions is made available 60 days after the opinion is made public. A temporary version is available online for the first 60 days. Official Opinions are searchable from1850-present.
California Courts
Information about California's Superior Courts, Courts of Appeal, and Supreme Court.
Legal Databases (SCU only)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis is a great resource for finding court opinions at both the federal and state levels.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline has more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.