Government Information

Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)

Santa Clara University Library is a Federal Depository Library. Depository libraries provide local, no-fee access to government information in a non-partisan environment with professional librarians available to assist users. Since the U.S. government is the largest publisher in the world, this gives researchers access to a wealth of information.

Finding Aids for Government Information

GovInfo
This database provides public access to all federal government information submitted by Congress and federal agencies to the Government Printing Office (GPO). 

USA.gov
USA.gov is the U.S. Government's official web portal. It is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from local, state, and federal government websites.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key words. 

HathiTrust 
The HathiTrust collection contains 18+ million digitized items from academic and research libraries. Since most federal government and some state government documents (e.g., California) are not copyrighted, they are freely accessible in HathiTrust, if digitized. This collection is a good avenue to search for difficult-to-find government documents.

Library Databases

The SCU Library has a number of databases providing access to federal resources. Members of the public can gain access to these databases by getting a temporary password at the University Library Help Desk.