Sign up for New York Times
Sign up for Wall Street Journal
Newspapers A-Z Databases
To find all of the library's newspaper's go to:
- The library's homepage: https://www.scu.edu/library/
- Navigate to the "Quick Links" and select "Databases" OR click on the "Databases" tab on the search box. Select the link "Browse All Databases by Type of Vendor".
- Navigate to the drop down menu "All Databases Types". Click on the drop down arrow and select "Newspapers".
Newspaper Sources
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThis database covers the most current and controversial issues of the day complete with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Full text of all articles published since 1991.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable digitized issues of The New York Times. Indexing coverage is from 1851 to 4 years ago. Full text is available online from 1851 to 4 years ago.
- Los Angeles Times (1881-Present) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text newspaper editions of Los Angeles Times from 1881-2000. Coverage includes politics, society and events of the day.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles for 522 U.S. regional, national and international newspapers like USA Today, Indian Country Today and The Times (London). Also offered are transcripts from major network television and radio news, such as Face the Nation, CBS Evening News, CNN Reliable Sources, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, etc. Dates of coverage vary.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database Includes articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers (many of them bilingual) published between 1808 - 1980. Included are newspapers from California, Texas, New Mexico, New York, and many other states.
- Business Journals This link opens in a new windowAccount creation using @scu.edu email address required. Access to 46 metropolitan U.S. business weeklies published by American City Business Journals, including the Silicon Valley/San Jose Business Journal. Includes business news throughout the major metropolitan areas, across 18 different industries locally, and the Book of Lists.
- San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new windowOnline edition (text only) of the San Francisco Chronicle, from 195 to 2024.
- Mercury News (MercuryNews.com) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to contentat MercuryNews.com. Mercury News content includes breaking news, local news, sports, opinion, things to do, and more. Full text of articles back to 1985 and full-color newspaper page images back to 2020 are available from San Jose Mercury News.