Finding News Articles through the Library
Searching for news coverage on this topic can be done through the "Articles" tab. From the library's homepage, select the "Articles" tab in the search bar and type in your keyword(s). Click on the magnifying class. To get to newspapers, review the example below:
- Make sure you are on the "Articles and More" tab.
- Check to see your keywords in the search bar.
- Select the "News" filter on the left-hand side.
Newspapers
SCU Newspapers and Media
To access the New York Times or Mercury News, you will need to create an account. Follow the links below for a step-by-step guide on how to create your account through Santa Clara University. Please use your SCU email account when signing up.
-
Los Angeles Times (1881-Present) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text newspaper editions of Los Angeles Times from 1881. Coverage includes politics, society and events of the day.
-
Mercury News (MercuryNews.com) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to contentat MercuryNews.com. Mercury News content includes breaking news, local news, sports, opinion, things to do, and more. Full text of articles back to 1985 and full-color newspaper page images back to 2020 are available from San Jose Mercury News.
-
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to NYTimes.com, New York Times mobile apps, and New York Times in Education. Registration is required. Content includes Breaking News, Multimedia, Opinion, Blogs, Videos and more.
-
San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new windowOnline edition (text only) of the San Francisco Chronicle, from 195 to 2024.
Online newspapers and media that does not require SCU subscription
-
Associated Press - HomelessnessAssociated Press (AP) is an independent news organization. Use this link to see current news articles on homelessness.
-
CalMattersCalMatters is a nonpartisan and nonprofit news organization that covers stories of homelessness and the unhoused in California.