CLAS 12A: Cultures & Ideas II: Creating Barbarians (Cohen)

This encyclopedia covers the diverse peoples of early European civilization, presented in chronological order, from early prehistoric peoples through the early Middle Ages.

Dealing with all aspects of Iranian history and culture, this encyclopedia focuses on Iran and Afghanistan from prehistory to the present. Its articles on ancient archaeological sites of the region are extremely scholarly and informative. The encyclopedia is a work in progress; volumes for the letters A through Kas have been published so far.

This multivolume encyclopedia is the major scholarly reference work in the English language about ancient Egypt. It covers Egypt from prehistoric times to the Islamic conquest in 642 CE.

This atlas contains many intriguing thematic maps that put the geography of the times into context. Beautifully illustrated, it includes articles on major archaeological sites and provides a useful introduction to the history and culture of the ancient Near East.

This comprehensive five-volume encyclopedia contains scholarly articles covering the civilizations of Syria, Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa, from prehistory through the Crusades. Especially noteworthy are the large number of articles that are site reports for archaeological sites throughout the entire Near East.

This online reference book offers a good introduction to ancient Mesopotamia, with a strong emphasis on daily life and social history.